We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smerwick Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Smerwick Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Smerwick Harbour Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyferriter, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here last week, room was spotless, big and bright, breakfast very good, bar food was very good, we ate twice on both evening, service excellent, staff working here are fantastic nothing is too much for them. I think this is very good budget hotel and I will definitly come back here next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    15
    19
    29
See reviews for
61
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Worst meal I've ever had. Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. We had to get the menus ourselves.The place is designed to rip off tourists. All the food was frozen and vacuum packed and they charge prices of a decent restaurant. When we got the bill they still oncluded the food that was sent back. Do not done here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine C, Director of Sales at Smerwick Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sic,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear that your experience was not to your satisfaction, it is not acceptable that you had to get the food menus yourself and I apologise for the shortfall in the service. I would like you to contact me to discuss your experience as we certainly would not like any guest to think that we were out to rip anybody off, also I would like to know why you thought our food was vacuum packed etc, it seems an unusual assumption for a guest to make and I can assure you it is not true, we source local products and prepare them each day on the premises. I would appreciate it if you could email me your contact details on info@htlmc.ie and I can go through your experience in more detail with you. Kind regards
Catherine Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here last weekend, and having read some of the reviews here beforehand, was a little apprehensive before arrivng. However, as one reviewer has already mentioned, the negative reviews are very unfair, to say the least. I travel a lot for work, and I've stayed in far worse hotels for much higher cost. This hotel was basic, but comfortable and makes no claims to be the Ritz or anything like it.
My family had 3 lovely nights here, ate twice in the bar, where we got good food at value for money prices, and I cannot praise the staff of the hotel highly enough. Everyone one of them was very pleasant to deal with and extremely helpful, especially the Polish girl who I think was the General Manager, she could sure show us Irish people how to be a model of what a Manager of a hotel should be.
This is one hotel myself and family will definitely be returning to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed in July during what was obviously a busy weekend for the hotel and having read some of the reviews beforehand I feel them to be totally unfair and indeed some downright outrageous.
Yes this is a 3* Budget Hotel and you get what you pay for and that is what my review is based on and yes some areas are getting a little jaded.
The rooms were basic but very spacious and clean,bathrooms are basic but again clean and no problem with supply of towels.
The breakfasts were excellent both the buffet of cereals,breads cheese etc and the cooked breakfast served.What more could one ask for to start your day.( Remember the price you are paying.)
The bar is very pleasant and the bar food was again v.good barfood,well presented and reasonably priced.
We had just toasted sandwiches one evening and again,well presented and what we expected.
The staff were friendly,courteous and most helpful.
The Hotel is ideally located for touring the Dingle Peninsula and you do not want to or can not afford to pay Dingle Hotel prices.
It is walking distance from Gallarus Oratory,a must to see,short drive from nearby beach and their is a great local hackney service €4 per person each way if you want to spent an evening in Dingle in some of their great restraunts or bars.
All in all you get more than what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 16th and 17th of July 2013 and loved it. This is the first review I have ever written but just felt I had to as so many negative comments here and a lot over the top. Our room was spotless and nothing like what is being described by grab a special offer and them moan like hell crowd. The staff were lovely and we had a lovely breakfast on both mornings with a cooked breakfast and a selection of cereals yogurt fruit and pastries. We had a lovely walk on the beach near by and were guided to the best boat tour of the Blaskets by the staff. Its approx 5k from Dingle and also near Ventry for water sports. We started our Slea head drive here and it was amazing and returned that night to dinner and few drinks at the bar. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and you get what you pay for and we felt more. We are looking forward to staying there next year and have recommended it to friends. Thanks to the staff and the hospitality we received were second to none. We continued our trip to a 4 star hotel in another city which was nice but liked the relaxed atmosphere in the Smerwick better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at Smerwick Harbour Hotel in July 2013 and I am suprised that people don't like this place. For me and my family everything was absolutly perfect. Rooms were clean, breakfast and bar food very good, staff welcoming and very friendly. We will definitly stay there next time when we will be in Dingle.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The rooms wear not clean and had a damp smell breakfast was lovely food was good but would not stay there again I would not recommend this hotel to anyone staff were very nice reception was nice to sit down in we had to get a different room because there was a spider in the room and snot on the bed sheets and and a bloody tissue on the bed and a damp smell they did give us another room which was a bit of a improvement

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smerwick Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smerwick Harbour Hotel

Address: Ballyferriter, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:3 star — Smerwick Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smerwick Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smerwick Harbour Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smerwick Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.