We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alpine Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alpine Guesthouse
Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 73 Dingle B&B and Inns
Fort Wayne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our favorite place we stayed in Ireland although that might also be because Dingle was our favorite place too. It was a perfect location - just enough out of town that there was a parking lot but close enough to walk around. We had a room that overlooked the harbor which was the best view we had in 2 weeks in Europe. I've recommended this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Situated on a rise on the edge of town, Alpine offers great views across the water. The hotel is spacious, clean, comfortable and friendly. Great big car park. Good WiFi in the comfy lounge areas. Room was old style but spacious, clean and well maintained. Owners are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is perfect. Easy walking distance into town for great selections of pubs, music, restaurants and shopping. A perfect place from which to explore the Dingle Peninsular.

Room Tip: Front rooms give you the sea. Back rooms give you green hills. So everyone's a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent two night at the Alpine Guesthouse in October. Our room, on the second floor at the far right (as you face the hotel) was wonderfully spacious and comfortable. Our hostess was delightful and helpful, giving us the Rick Steves 10% discount when we checked out. There is tons of spacious parking - a plus for these American drivers. The hotel is in a super location - just out of the main part of town, so quiet and overlooking the harbor, but at the same time a very easy walk to town and the harbor-side restaurants and bars. Excellent breakfast. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We loved our second floor far end in front room. Double and twin bed, very spacious and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We called late to book a room at this hotel. They quoted us a price and then when asked afterwards about the Rick Steves' discount the hostess said the price they quoted already included the discount... not sure if they honour the Rick Steves' 10% off with cash and book in hand. Breakfast was good and accommodating for second helpings. Wifi was good throughout the hotel. Rooms were clean and bathrooms clean. Showers were a little weak/not hot enough. Staff were helpful in the afternoon even after we checked out of the hotel the next day. 5-10 minute walk from the downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We came late in the evening around 8:30 pm and we were looking for a 3 bed room for us and our grandson who has Autism. The lady was very friendly and she gave us a nice room on the backside of the house. This was a very good choice, because he can't handle stressful situations or loud noises.

The guesthouse was clean and had a warm and friendly atmosphere. We had a rich breakfast and a good start in the next day. Thanks very much to the owner and the friendly staff :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the house have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in the Alpine Guesthouse when we were on our Rick Steves 14-day tour of Ireland. The is a bathtub in the bathroom, but no clock in the bedroom. Our room was on the top floor on the left end as you face the guesthouse; and we had wonderful views out over the entrance to Dingle harbor and over the town of Dingle. Breakfast - cold buffet and hot items from a menu. The WiFi hot spot was rather intermittent. Guesthouse is just a short walk from the center of Dingle and there is a small market just down the street from the guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here last weekend. Comfortable rooms, lots of parking, excellent breakfast, and close to town. What made the difference for us was the staffs attitude, they were so kind and friendly, two small examples;

1. I asked for an iron and ironing board as I needed to iron my shirt; one of the staff (a lady) even offered to iron it for me
2. We arrived downstairs late for breakfast and they made us something without any issues.

Both these made a big difference to our trip, and it's a big difference staying in a hotel and somewhere so charming & friendly - hope this continues

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Guesthouse

Address: Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Guesthouse Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.