We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Bright Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpine Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alpine Guesthouse
Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 73 Dingle B&B and Inns
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice, Bright Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Alpine Guesthouse is very nice, easy to reach by car, yet within short walking distance to restaurants and pubs. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a full breakfast with good variety. Our room was fairly large, with a desk and space for luggage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Situated a five minute walk from main commercial street, this three story B&B is rather large compared to others in the area but still provides a quiet atmosphere next to the harbor. Ample breakfast selections served by pleasant staff. While missing the more personal feel of a smaller B&B, the rooms are clean and comfortable and baths have plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed here while on vacation through Ireland for 2 nights.
The place is set up much like a hotel, without a lot of personal touches. We did meet the aforementioned Paul on our last breakfast right before check out. He was very nice, but the rest of the time, there was no one there.
Location is good, 10 minute walk to town. Ample parking.
Rooms were fine. Ours was small on the 2nd floor. Clean enough. The room had extra blankets that we appreciated since the room was freezing. During the day they didn't run the heat and the temp was 65 Fahrenheit. This was cold on a rainy, cold day outside.
Breakfast was the typical Irish and continental mix, good enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed one night in a very spacious room. Of all the B&B's we stayed in, this felt more like a hotel since it was so large. We had a wonderful breakfast and received fantastic advice on places to look at on our way to our next destination from Paul. The bed was a little hard for my taste but could be wonderful it that's what you're used to!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our family of four enjoyed our stay at the Alpine Guest House. The owner, Paul, is very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is a block from the center of town and has large comfortable rooms. Breakfast was ample and delicious. A great place to stay in a beautiful corner of Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Out of all the places we stayed Kirstin, the girl who checked us in, was the most helpful. She took out a map and marked places on it for us. She even set up a private tour of Dingle Bay for us which was great! The house was lovely and breakfast was very nice--all the usual Irish items! Location was so convenient to town I just wish we could have stayed longer! Also the 10% discount for having Rick Steve's book with me was nice. Very clean place and lovely view. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here with a tour for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious, breakfast was delicious and the service was lovely. My group returned from a tour in the driving rain. Paul, who runs the Alpine, dried out our wet clothes! It was such a treat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Guesthouse

Address: Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Guesthouse Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.