We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chowder Cafe/Restaurant

Chowder Cafe/Restaurant
Strand Street, Dingle, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Dingle
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Chowder
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

had the most amazing Goats cheese open sandwich, the chowder was also a fovourite! Impeccably friendly and fast service in a cute little cafe!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    37
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A cafe with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Chowder is a small cafe in the centre of Dingle. In a busy town full of tourist restaurants and cafes it's often hard to know where to pick. if you like home cooked fresh food - then Chowder would be a good bet. We were there on a wet cold day and the cafe windows were steamed up and all was warm and cosy inside. Service was quick and very efficient. My fresh fish chowder soup was absolutely delicious, accompanied by home made soda bread and "his" turkey and salad panini got the thumbs up. We were too full ( post Christmas) to sample the lunch menu featuring fresh daily specials, but everything served to other diners looked equally as good. Large warming pots of tea were also very welcome. For a cafe I would rate Chowder as good as it gets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt2010
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best chowder ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Came in for a quick meal and ordered the chowder...WOW! The seafood chowder was spectacular, tasted as if the seafood had been caught right out in the ocean in front of the restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great meal, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just happened across this restaurant while visiting Dingle and what a great find it was. The food was great, we had the chowder (of course) and a couple of daily fish specials. There wasn't a part of the meal that we didn't like. everything was fresh an delicious. One of the better meals that we had in Ireland. Be sure that you have cash as they don't accept cards.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The porrige is phenomenal (just ask my daughter as I was stealing all of hers). If you are American, you probably won't like pudding. Low key and very friendly people running the place. I would go again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Cafe/Restaurant also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Chowder Cafe/Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowder Cafe/Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.