We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fresh local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Canteen

An Canteen
Dykegate Lane, Dingle, Ireland
+353(0)866603778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 Restaurants in Dingle
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Scandinavian, Minority Chinese, NorthWestern Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Fantastic fresh local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Thanks a lot the An Canteen for such amazing dinner.
If you love seafood you should try their mussels...forget about Brussels or Niece...you would be glad to taste this one.
At the same time you can choose local ale and beer which have a very nice taste.
I would highly recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    90
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, atmosphere, and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a wonderful meal with delicate 16 Hour Kerry Braised Beef that was cooked to perfection, seasoned along with chicken wings, seasonal vegetables and a fantastic serving of duck. Each really met the food quality bar you see in other reviews here and I would have to highly recommend everything on the menu. The big surprise was the dessert, which seemed simple enough as a toffee pudding but had pop rocks inside it to really delight you as you wrap up your meal. In most venues, especially in Dingle, rarely do you have the co-owner brothers come out and make such an effort to talk to the customer and really engage with you. It was absolutely fantastic, and among my best service experiences in Ireland overall after being here 6 years. If you're in Dingle, make it count, definitely hit up An Canteen!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice selection of beers and fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice quaint venue for dinner. We sampled a variety of beers and food for dinner one evening. Everything was high quality and tasty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you needed another excuse to visit Dingle....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A group of 13 of us had an amazing meal here Saturday night. Great value and great service - even the owner/chef came out to help serve and make us feel welcome. The quality of the food is second to none - every single person in the group were still talking about the amazing food the following day. Will definitely be back and would lightly recommend it to anyone visiting Dingle. It's a bit hidden away down a side street, but we found it thanks to Tripadvisor - so thanks for that. Don't miss this restaurant if you are visiting Dingle :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Casual cosy atmosphere-great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stopped in yday, and we were immediately shown to a nice little booth. I had the duck and my partner had the braised beef . Both dishes were excellent and cooked very nicely. Meat came right off the bone! Delicious! The wine was a French White(colombard) and was very good quality and reasonably priced too!
I had blackberry creme brulee for desert.
Probably the best desert I've ever had.Top notch!
Our server, the host and even the chef made us feel very welcome! Great little spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Canteen also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to An Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Canteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.