We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Knowledge and Genuine Interest in the Dingle Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dingle Tours

Dingle Tours
Dingle, Ireland
086 3252996
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local Knowledge and Genuine Interest in the Dingle Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Denis Ryan was recommended by family who participated in a tour in Spring 2013. We booked a tour for early October 2013 and were very happy we did so. Denis picked us up from the Tourist Office right on time. His local knowledge was evident, as he conducted the tour while driving us around the "Slea Head loop." Very interesting history of the area, a great compliment to the natural beauty of the landscape. I'd encourage anyone visiting the area to seek out Denis for either the three or four hour tour; time well spent and the personal attention beats any crowded bus tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best way to see Slea Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Dennis does a great tour and knows all the spots you want to see and some you're not even aware of. Touring with Dennis in a private car is the way to go. So much more enjoyable and informative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The only way to see Slea Head is with Denis at the wheel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After driving a good distance from Dublin we were more than ready to turn the reins over to Denis Ryan, a knowledgeable and hospitable guide who drove us to sites off the beaten path and gave us a history lesson at the same time. As tour buses tried to negotiate the narrow road and stopped briefly to point something out, we were walking down hills, touring the forts, beehives and monasteries and learning more about Ireland than i could have imagined. He was punctual, the price of the 4 hour tour was VERY reasonable and i have been enjoying his music since i returned home with one of his CD's. Thanks Denis for the highlight of our vacation!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip to Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Diarmuid Begley is knowledgeable and passionate about the Dingle Peninsula. He seems to love what he does, and conveys a warm personal attachment to his subject matter, which becomes positively infectious. We were haunted for days after his tour by the sights he showed us, and the accompanying narrative. He is also an honest tour guide - and will charge only what is fair, and not a dime more. He is one of a kind.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Book Denis Ryan for a superb tour of Slea Head and sacred sites of Dingle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently booked Denis for a 5 hour tour of Slea Head drive and the sacred sites of the Dingle Peninsula. Denis accommodated his tour to our particular requests and interests, and filled the better part of a day with off the beaten path antiquities, graveyards, sacred wells, and ring forts that we would have driven by on our own unnoticed. Denis is personable, extremely knowledgeable, and offers a great value.
I highly recommend Denis as tour guide for the Dingle Peninsula.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dingle Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dingle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dingle Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.