We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Ice Cream

Murphy's Ice Cream
Strand Street, Dingle, Ireland
066 915 2644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 69 Restaurants in Dingle
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Murphys Ice Cream is the flagship shop of this upscale Irish ice cream company. As well as an array of ice cream flavours, they serve delicious coffees, hot chocolates, cakes, and have a range of eating chocolates. Some of the flavours you might find are pink champagne sorbet, chocolate with Irish whiskey, praline pecan, and Guinness and chocolate chip.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This ice cream is absolutely delicious! They have unique flavors like toasted oats, brown bread, and honeycomb, but the best is gin. It's made with gin from the Dingle Distillery and is light with a wonderful floral flavor. We went back each night. :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    101
    46
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply the best !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely, lovely homemade ice-cream.. Have been to both shops in Dingle and Killarney and they both stock a big selection of interesting ice-creams.. Sure, it's a little more expensive than run-of-the-mill ice creams but the quality is 5 ***** and you get what you pay for.! You can also get coffee/tea in the ice-cream parlour...
Will be back for more next time I'm in either town or anywhere in Kerry.. (-:

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful flavors and cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I wouldn't be sold on the flavors alone but the ice cream is top quality too. Gin, toasted oats, brown bread, sea salt, butterscotch, Carmel along with the usual favorite flavored ice creams. A must snack while on The Dingle Peninsula. The workers are helpful and encourage tastes. It is a bit pricey but everyone is happier with ice cream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'm sorry to say that the ice-cream we had was nothing special. I make it better myself at home . They charged us €7 for two cones with two scoops which was a total rip off. Save your money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic ice cream and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited Murphy's after having dinner locally. The staff was very friendly and professional. Our favorite flavors were Sea Salt Caramel combined with Honey Comb, Toasted Oat, Coffee and Homemade Lemon Curd. It was some of the best ice cream we've ever had and we highly recommend Murphy's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Ice Cream also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Murphy's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.