We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broigin Farmhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broigin Farmhouse
Save
You added Broigin Farmhouse to your Saves list
Knockavrogeen East, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Gemany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

A B&B crowded with "Irish Dresden", very helpful hosts, and the best of it a warming bottle in the bed.
We loved to stay there, though it is a little bit of town.

  • Liked — The house is stuffed with "Irish Dresden" china
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

My family & I stayed at Broigin for just one night, but we wished we could have stayed longer: the Dingle peninsula represents the Ireland we wanted so much to visit: peaceful, colourful little villages, VERY friendly people, great food, sheep in the middle of the street, etc. Broigin is a cosy family B&B. We had the pleasure of meeting landlord Joe & 2 of his grandchildren. Their hospitality was incredible: my daughter played her first tennis match on the tarmac tennis court, available free to guests. Joe always made time for a nice talk & he made the best breakfast served to us during our 12-day stay in Ireland (my husband simply adored the smoked salmon he got for breakfast!!)
Strongly recommended!!!!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Where to begin: The breakfast...wow...hot water bottle at night...We really felt pampered yet not hovered over...Worth the few kilometer drive out of Dingletown. We had left an expensive coat behind when we departed to visit the Beara Peninsula. Anne arranged to have it shipped by bus to Tralee....no charge. Blackie the dog was a big hit as well.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

John and Anne Curran are the proprietors, though John takes care of most of the b&b work. They raised 11 kids. John is a gem: hospitable, thoughtful. Don't be put off when you first enter the place. The decor is decidedly different: geegaws everywhere. He has an addiction to collecting trinkets, perhaps from carnivals and fairs, I didn't ask. But they're EVERYWHERE. At first you think they're way overdone. Then you start to appreciate them. It's different, and god bless different. The place is clean, comfortable, recently renovated. It has a small but delightful lounge: heavy furniture crammed into it, a huge television that you likely won't bother with, and a turf fire. Most cozy. In apron and houseslippers, John cooks up a great breakfast. You won't need lunch. What truly won me over, however, was the hot water bottle, tucked into a flannel bag, that I discovered when I pulled back the covers at bedtime. Nobody does that sort of thing anymore. It was a wonderful touch. In his room my brother slept with it on his chest: he had a bad cough. A cousin slept with hers on her back, to ease a pain. It was a funny, restful experience on the Dingle Peninsula. Broigin might be hard to find, but it's worth looking for. Don't stay in some impersonal townside place. There were four of us staying there, and we all agreed it was a great stop.

  • Liked — The hot water bottle.
  • Disliked — It was all good.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broigin Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broigin Farmhouse

Address: Knockavrogeen East, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broigin Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.