We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goat Street Cafe

The Goat Street Cafe
Upper Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
+353 66 915 2770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have had the pleasure of dining in the Goat Street Cafe three times in the past few weeks. Everything about the restaurant is superb and I have recommended it to many of my friends and acquaintances as a result. The food is wonderful, with flavours always tasty and pure. The menu caters for all tastes and everybody is facilitated no matter what their needs are. The staff are most accommodating and pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all, an experience not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    49
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not many restaurants get it this right! Goat Street has a very nice menu- vegetarians well catered for. Food is excellent value - many main courses less than 12 euro - but the thing that i really liked is the fact that every meal I had here over the course of a 4 week holiday was really really tasty- this is not something you find everywhere. The staff are fantastic. Lots of locals eat here and judging from interaction with staff they are regulars. I have eaten in the more expensive restaurants in Dingle and the food is simply not as good nor as tasty as the simple dishes I had in Goat Street. I kept going back to repeat the experience and it didn't disappoint hence the 5 stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, nice atmosphere and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We dropped in for a coffee in the mid-afternoon. the staff were really friendly. The tables were cleared and cleaned promptly after each group. It caters for all types of groups we had two very tasty desserts and got great advise on gluten-free options.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good fish special and very friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the brill fish special and a micro brew. Brew was local. Great choice and very tasty. No wifi however...

Small but decent menu.

Friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dinner Spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My friend and I ended up here after searching for a restaurant in Dingle that had options other than seafood. I loved that everything seemed to be farm-to table and that the "menu" was a board with the entree options on it. We both had the organic coca-cola which was an interesting experiment, more bitter than a normal coke, but still good. I ended up ordering the plaice which was very mild and a bit plain. It took a long time to get our drinks and bill, but that was ok for us as we were not in a hurry. Overall a pleasant place to stop in for dinner, I would have been interested to see what the lunch menu was like.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goat Street Cafe also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Goat Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goat Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.