We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood I Ever Had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out of the Blue Seafood

Out of the Blue Seafood
Waterside, Dingle, Ireland
+353 66 915 0811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 68 Restaurants in Dingle
Price range: $27 - $61
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Seafood I Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stopped in for lunch on our last day in Dingle. The freshest of the fresh, they won't even open the place unless they've caught something that morning. I'd ordered 2 starters instead of an entree: The tuna medallions with pesto and a crab claw and crayfish duo served on this pilo crust with a garlic cream sauce. It. Was. FABULOUS. Take note: the menu changes daily, depending on what they catch, I believe.

We'd tried for dinner the night before (this was mid-week), but the place was packed and near closing, so be sure to make a reservation for an evening meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    131
    44
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Couldn't get in on our first night, make sure you try and get a reservation. We had the second best meal in Dingle sorry. For a seafood lover make sure and try to stop in. Wont be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Tasty but gave me food poisoning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place had good reviews and was very busy. My husband, my mother in law and I managed to get a seat and we each had a seafood chowder. The chowder tasted great but unfortunately, I was sick within hours and my mother in law and husband followed suit rapidly.....I spent the rest of my holiday throwing up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A break from fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Unassuming from the outside, this lovely spot is full of wonderful flavors and offers an amazing array of fresh seafood. The ever changing menu is presented on a blackboard that is brought to your table for your review. While the food and atmosphere was lovely, the service was lacking the lovely hospitality we've enjoyed elsewhere on our visit to Ireland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and me were received very friendly. It was a top evening, so we had a booking for the late shift after nine pm. We had to wait at the counter, which was no problem, but a glass wine on the house would have been a nice gesture. Service was very friendly, the starter of crayfish and crab was delicious. Main dishes were a sea bass grilled on charcoal (which was only after asking revealed as farmed). Mains were very good. The white wine from Sardinia very good as the Barbera d'Alba. Expensive but that is the case everywhere in Ireland. In a nutshell: good food, wines on the menu chosen with care but pricey. We left with a price tag of 170 Euro for two for three courses and two bottles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of the Blue Seafood also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Out of the Blue Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of the Blue Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.