We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change to Pub Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out of the Blue Seafood

Out of the Blue Seafood
Waterside, Dingle, Ireland
+353 66 915 0811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Dingle
Price range: $27 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice change to Pub Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were recommended to check this place out by our Hotel and we are very glad we did. All fresh seafood, nothing frozen. We both tried different types of fish we had never had and it was amazing! Everything was very fresh and tasty, the service was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    131
    44
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We both had the seafood platters, which consisted of a little bit of everything. Included were several types of fish and other seafood - even a bit of lobster! The price was on the high side, but worth every penny. Unfortunately, the night we were there, a large party of other tourists were also there and they were very noisy. It destroyed the ambience somewhat, but that wasn't the fault of the restaurant. The server was apologetic, but there was nothing she could do. Wonderful food, but you do need to book.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If they caught it that day they'll cook it that evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Doesn't get any fresher than this.
A food cooked with passion and the taste is heavenly.
Service excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little hyped, but decent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a Wednesday night dinner at OOTB and it was definitely tasty albeit a touch too rich. The lobster bisque starter was very yummy, but the richness was even visibly evident as you could see the butter oil separating from stock. I had the filet of John Dory and my boyfriend had the monkfish. His was outstanding, it was accompanied by a mustard seed sauce which brought out really unique favors. I was excited to try John Dory but the overwhelming butter and cream sauce was so much that I couldn't even eat some of the pieces that had become doused in the sauce. In my opinion, seafood is delicious on its own and needs very little sauce or seasoning to be delicious. I believe OOTB perhaps caters to a palate where this is not the case and more butter = more delicious. Just my 2 cents!

Portions were generous. Prices were too high - the monkfish and John Dory were each around 29 euro. 1 starter, 2 mains, 1 modestly priced bottle of wine, 1 dessert was 115 euro including 10% tip. We had a superb meal at Global Village for less than this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, N.Y.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Casual and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fun and causal charmer. A fish restaurant that really knows how to prepare seafood. We had shell fish so fresh and delicious the I'm still thinking about it.
Everything we ordered including the dessert was yummy.
The waitress was adorable and helped us pick the right pub for the evening ,according to which place had the best music that night. Everyone really cared that we had a great experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of the Blue Seafood also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Out of the Blue Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of the Blue Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.