We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Global Village

The Global Village
Upper Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
066 9152325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Dingle
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited the restaurant in July. Booking the day before we could only get a 6 pm sitting so eatly booking essiential.
We had the Early Bird at € 25
The A la carte prices suffered from the Dingle disease of assuming that anyone who dines out is a millionaire!

However, the quality of the food and service would probably have justified the prices.
The Early Bird price made it outstanding value

The food was presented in a novel , interesting and exciting manner by attentive, pleasant and well trained staff.

The only, very petty, criticisms would be that the Melba toast had a ceramic qualilty and the vegetables were somewhat unimaginative.

If you get a chance don't miss it but book early!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    61
    16
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, small bit over priced..!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I had a lovely meal with my family. I had a started and a main. Salad dressing lovely and main course was soo tasty...! The staff were so nice and kind. Great atmosphere to the place. One thing I would point out though it was a bit small and a bit over priced, but it was lovely. Good idea for a nice night out.!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited Global Village with a large group of family/friends which can sometimes be a problem for small restaurants but not on this occasion. The service and food were both excellent, with great choice. Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My new favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

There are some great restaurants in Dingle; The Global Village is up there with the best.

The service was just right, not too fawning, not too distracted. This is impressive considering what a busy night the restaurant was having. We had the table for as long as we liked, and didn't feel one-bit rushed.

The food was the real star though. Every mouthful was delicious. And worth every single cent.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachsetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb Dining in Dingle, County Kerry, Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

During a July 2013 walk along 65 miles of the Dingle Way, we spent our second night in Dingle. In a town crowded with pubs, shops, and multiple restaurants, we chose carefully, and were rewarded with a superb dinner at Global Village, on Upper Main Street, a sort of nouvelle cuisine locavore restaurant with a very fairly priced (29 Euro) early-seating, three-course meal. One of us had excellent crab bisque; plaice (flounder-like, if you don't know it) with "crab toes" (legs), dill sauce, garlic potatoes, and pureed peas. The other had a beet salad with goat cheese, rocket, walnuts, asparagus, and beet coulis, followed by hake topped with chorizo and anchovies (an excellent, inventive combination) atop rosti potatoes, pureed carrots, and salsa verde--beautiful on the plate and the palate. The brown bread had perhaps the best crust we have ever enjoyed. Side dishes included carrots, turnip, cauliflower, and zucchini. For dessert, we had a flight of salted caramel ice cream; a buttermilk vanilla semi-freddo-like pudding; and a tiny mason jar filled of rhubarb (appearing on every menu this time of year, and deliciously so) crumble. Given the local flora--with towering hedgerows of fuchsia in wild bloom--the table setting of fuchsia blossoms, which even appeared with entrees, was entirely fitting. Dingle's street scene can be noisy on festive or sunny nights; we stayed at the Archway Lodge down the block and across the street, and had a perfectly quiet, oversized, and thoroughly comfortable room with completely modern fittings and a well-above B&B-standard bath; proprietors Justin and Marian McCarthy provided one of the more generous, complete breakfasts, with many options, among those we enjoyed at several B&Bs during our progress along the Dingle Way. An excellent accommodation. Well recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Global Village also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Global Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Global Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.