We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Kenmare, stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines B&B
Save
You added Whispering Pines B&B to your Saves list
Glengarriff Road, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you're in Kenmare, stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There's no good reason not to stay at Whispering Pines. It's less than a 5 minute walk from restaurants, pubs, shopping and all that Kenmare has to offer. Mary (the proprietor) is incredibly kind and the hospitality is first rate. The full Irish breakfast is fantastic - if you like fresh salmon you'll love it even more. The accommodations are lovely and the home immaculate. The beds are very comfortable, the home is quiet, and the tea is plentiful. The parking is off the street and makes for easy coming and going. And, there's a strong wifi connection. My fiance and I stayed here w/ her parents on our way to Killarney for our wedding and we absolutely loved it. We have very fond memories of our stay, Mary's warmth, the fantastic music, dining, and the sights of Kenmare. Mary was helpful in every way - with recommendations for restaurants, music, driving directions and local attractions. She even called around for us to find out the where the trad was...we found it and the craic. If I were asked, "Would you stay there again?" My answer is, unequivocally, yes. [And, you should too.]

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Mary and daughter Kathleen made us (2 couples) feel welcome as soon as we arrived. This genuine friendliness and interest was evident in all of our discussions with them. Restaurant suggestions and an early breakfast were happily provided. Mary even contacted us at our next B&B to notify us of a forgotten mobile phone which she then mailed to us and would not let us repay the cost. Throughout the rest of our 18 night stay in Ireland we didn't find better hosts. We can't thank them enough and whole-heartedly recommend Whispering Pines to anyone visiting Kenmare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We happened upon this B&B after a long day of driving. Mary was so wonderful that, two years later, we planned our trip with an intentional stay at this B&B. It is absolutely delightful - and Mary is the picture perfect hostess.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I visited this B&B my first time in Ireland, and was ecstatic about it - location within walking distance of great shopping and restaurants; sparkling clean bathrooms; bedside lighting that one could actually read by; beautifully decorated; extra little touches like hair dryers in rooms and sachets in closets that show that a loving family runs this place. This time, I took my sister on her first trip to Ireland, and used this as an excuse to return to Kenmare and the Whispering Pines. Everything was as great as I remembered, and my sister took home memories that are priceless. My next trip to Ireland will focus on the west coast, so that I can spend more time in Kenmare -- there's still a lot left to see, from stone circles, to the other famous Ring (Beara), to the harbour, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Mary and Kathleen (her cousin from the US) were just delightful. I think everything else could have been bad and we wouldn't have minded because they were so great. But everything else was great too. Nice comfortable room, lovely breakfast and a great location just outside the hub bub but quick and easy walking distance to town center. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our stay at was a joyful and delightful experience. Hostesses, Mary and Mary’s niece Kathleen, were lovely, gracious and ensured our comfort. Both ladies were warm and welcoming. They shared useful information about the local area and were exceedingly well informed. Bedding was crisp and clean. Room was sparkling. Breakfast was delicious and served in an elegant manner. We loved Whispering Pines so much we decided to stay another day. I give Whispering Pines 5 plus stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Owner Mary (and daughter Kathleen) are sincerely among the nicest people you will ever meet, and are dedicated to making your stay at their lovely home memorable and pleasant. The location is superb - just a block down from the main streets of Kenmare - and rooms were clean, quiet and well-equipped. The Breakfast was wonderful, with lots to choose from. Cannot imagine why this is not listed as the #1 location in Kenmare, if not in all of Ireland!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Pines B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines B&B

Address: Glengarriff Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Bed And Breakfast
Whispering Pines Hotel Kenmare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.