We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast at its finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldchurch House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oldchurch House B&B
Save
You added Oldchurch House B&B to your Saves list
Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bed and Breakfast at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We ahve been staying with Helen for a number of years, and there is only one place now that we would stay in Kenmare.
Friendly and personable service, Helen and Frank welcome you to their beautiful home overlooking Old Church and a golf course.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the breakfast is of a very high quality. You have to choose the full Irish breakfast. This will set you up for days out on the Beara Pennisula and the Ring of Kerry. Kenmare is also well situated for the Killarney National Park, and for a slightly further afield day out, the Diungle Penninsula.
Kenmare is a pretty town, with an array of good rerstaurants and pubs
I guarantee you will enjoy your stay at Oldchurch House, and will want a return visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a hidden gem in Kenmare and well worth a visit. Helen gave us a very warm welcome. She made life very easy for us during our time with her. She helped us plan our day trips to see the local sights and get in some excellent walks. The bedrooms and dining room are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was hearty and set us up very well for our walking trip. We all thought it was a home away from home and have already booked another trip for October.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This B&B is a lovely house situated in the heart of kenmare. Our room was clean, comfortable, decorated very nicely, bathroom was clean and roomy and the breakfast was delicious. Private parking - walking distance to Kenmare and the house is situated on a golf green with great scenery of the mountains and the historic church ruins across the street. Helen, the hostess, was a delight, warm, friendly, informative, and cheerful. A definite recommend!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

The hostess is very nice, and the home is pleasant and very clean. As a guest, I felt the home was not meant to accommodate guests. The bedroom was large but did not have place for luggage, bathroom had no shelves, dining area had large dining table for 8 and only 1 smaller table for 2, and there wasn't much of a sitting area. Hostess did not provide information helpful to a tourist. Would prefer a B&B where hospitality is also important.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Helen our hostess was welcoming, efficient, helpful. Comfortable safe walk to city center, at night although well lit an extra light is advised. Our room overlooking a busy road was a little noisy (traffic) and we woild have liked internet access, The Breakfast room/lounge has a lovely view of the local Golf Club and is warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Helen is the perfect hostess; she's there when you need her. She was also very helpful in providing information on places to visit. We were very comfortable the three nights we stayed. The breakfast was wonderful; eggs cooked to perfection and delicious home baked brown bread. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We came to Kenmare without overnight reservations, and found the Oldchurch House B&B through a recommendation. Could not have been more pleased. Our room was immaculate and looked out on the ruins of the "Old Church" across the road. There was road construction nearby, but all was quiet at night. In the morning - a fabulous breakfast. We would not hesitate to recommend the place to friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldchurch House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldchurch House B&B

Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldchurch House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.