We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hosts But B&B Needs Work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Druid Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Druid Cottage to your Saves list
Druid Cottage
Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Daytona Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hosts But B&B Needs Work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Bernadette and her husband are very nice hosts who are more than willing to answer questions and provide advice on sites, pubs, etc. However, the B&B is "tired." The room was okay but felt like it hasn't changed in decades. The sitting room downstairs felt "old."
It wasn't "inviting" so we didn't use it. The furniture seemed like it came from a used furniture store.

The breakfast was excellent but when looking out the windown toward the back, one could see junk that should have been tossed out or at least out of sight.

The location is excellent. It's an easy walk to town. This B&B could be outstanding but it needs lots of work and tender loving care.

If I were searching for a B&B in Kenmare, I'd keep looking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We found Druid Cottage by chance and luckily they had a free room. We even bargined down by 5 EUR. The room was very cute with a backwall made of gray rocks which gives it a very rustic but also warm feeling. Very clean and even with a flat sceen TV (ok not very large but hey it is not a 5 Star Marriott).
The hosts were very friendly and helpful and gave us some advice or our travel.
Breakfast was tasty and fresh.
We can really recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regensburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Druid Cottage
Sneem Rd, Kenmare, Co. Kerry
Tel: ireland, 064/41803
[--]

very characterized room, very nice host with rich travel experience around the world, very sweet cottage, not expensive...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We arrived by car in picturesque Kenmare late afternoon. We enjoy staying a kilometre or two out of town so we can have a good walk, and rang Druid Cottage after looking at our B&B guide. Bernadette, our host, gave us instructions on how to find the place, but after we got lost she jumped in her car and met us in town to guide us! She made us most welcome with tea and cakes, and gave us advice about the town and area. The room was beautiful and clean, the shared bathroom - this IS a B&B after all - also scrupulously clean. Breakfast was big in the traditional Irish way! All in all, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapelo Island, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Make sure to arrive on time. The room was small, and the walls are thin. But it was clean & comfortable and within a 15 minute walk of the city center area. Dinner at Foleys was excellent! Breakfast was good, especially chatting with the other boarders.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We (me, my wife, and our 18 year old son) stayed at the Druid Cottage B&B in Kenmare, County Kerry, for two nights in early June. We loved our room, the breakfasts were great, and the hosts were friendly and very helpful. It is only a short (and pleasant) walk into town. I definitely recommend the Druid Cottage.

  • Liked — Character, friendliness, and location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Druid Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druid Cottage

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Druid Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Druid Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.