We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse to your Saves list
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great value for money, right in tge center of town, the staff was very nice and went to a lot of trouble to get us an adaptor to charge our devices. the pub under the hotel had great music and good food. The only thing i missed was the variety in bread and ham/cheese/etc in the breakfast. There was only toast (yes, and a good selection of dishes like an irish breakfast, ioghurt, cereal, small cakes) and i did miss it. No lift but we stayed on the first floor so no problem. We parked right in front of the hotel for free.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    30
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
75
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Convenient, clean and comfortable with a spacious room for our family of three while touring Ireland. The town of Kenmare is charming with great music and pubs all steps from Davitts or just walk downstairs to enjoy the pub on the first floor. Great breakfast. I would stay here again (and again).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is located in the core downtown of Kenmare - everything is close. Inside the hotel is tastefully decorated giving a sense of attention to detail. Our room (#8) had two skylights in a sloped ceiling. Superb accommodations!

But, that's not all! The pub on the first floor maintains a first class restaurant. Staff are competent and genuinely interested in taking good care of their customers, a mix of locals who appear to "regulars" as well as tourists like us. All are welcomed by the Davitts staff. Our dinner was well prepared and presented.

This is a "do not miss" venue if you find yourself in Kenmare.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

For our first ever trip to Ireland we stayed for three nights at Davitt’s on the weekend of 17th August 2013 whilst we were in Kenmare for a wedding.

Initially we tried to book at the large, commercial hotel where the wedding reception was being at. However, on being given a quote for an absurdly large amount for our stay my wife and I decided to find something a little more affordable with a bit more character in the town centre of Kenmare. Based on its amazing reviews on trip advisor decided to book at Davitt’s.
We arrived at about 1700 hours on the Friday and were greeted by an extremely friendly female member of staff or booked us in and gave us our room keys. We were in room no.8 which was exactly what we were after as it was on the top floor facing the back. This meant that there was no noise from either the main road at the front or from the bar downstairs. The room was extremely light and airy as it had been refurbished recently. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained with an extremely function bath/shower unit. All three of the windows in our room were mounted in the slanted ceiling and could be opened really wide to allow lots of fresh air in. As a result the room never felt stuffy. Both bedroom windows had very effective pull down blinds so that neither of us were disturbed by the light in the morning.

The atmosphere in the bar restaurant area on the Friday night was amazing and we were both left in no doubt that we had arrived in Kerry CO. There was a musical duet who kept everyone in the restaurant thoroughly entertained whilst they ate. Before our food arrived I asked the barman what beers were worth trying for a pale ale drinker. He recommended both Ohara’s pale ale and Smithwicks both of which turned out to be excellent.

For dinner I had Irish beef burger with chunky chips while my wife had the monkfish with roasted vegetables. We both really enjoyed our meals as the food tasted incredibly fresh and wholesome and came out piping hot. The breakfasts in the mornings were also very good. I had the full Irish cooked breakfast for two of the three mornings that we were there and it was delicious.

Throughout our stay I would have agree with other reviews and say how enormously helpful Mary (the manager) was. On the Saturday when we were about to walk to the wedding ceremony at the Holy Cross Church it began raining hard. On seeing that we were in smart clothes Mary very kindly lent us an umbrella so that we could walk to there without getting soaked through. On the Sunday morning we were discussing with the staff that we were going to drive up to Killarney National Park. Mary very kindly explained how we could visit the best views for taking pictures. She even went as far as to draw us a little map to follow. We had a wonderful day sightseeing around the ring of Kerry.

I have only one slight criticism of Davitt’s in the fact that their website states that there is ‘Private Guest Parking’. This unfortunately is not the case. There is a small area at the rear of the B&B that is shared with the premises next door. At a squeeze it might be possible to fit two cars there but that’s all. The rest of the space is taken up with stacks of pallets and empty beer kegs. It wasn’t any problem as we just parked our rental vehicle in a side street nearby without any issues.

I would happily stay at Davitt’s again without hesitation as the food, drink and hospitality were impeccable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First class b and b fabulous room great location, had a beautiful breakfast and also had a fantastic meal in the restaurant at night. Very nice staff. Would highly recommend Davitts and Kenmare for a holiday great night time entettainment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenzano
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great choice has been to stay in this B&B, that I would rate more as small hotel rather than B&B. Just in the center of the small town and with a superb Bistro annexed and that serves very good food and music all togheter. The owners have been very warm and friendly during all our staying. The room was spacious and with big bathroom. Nothing to complain.

We will be back to this location if again in Kenmare

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Davitts Kenmare was a fantastic place to stay. My husband and I stayed there and we were both very happy with the location which was right in the middle of the town of Kenmare. The owners of the Inn were so friendly and were willing to help with anything needed from directions to cold medicine. The breakfast was included in the price and was fantastic. You had a buffet and then could also order off of the menu. I had the banana pancakes and I think there were fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Address: Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davitt's is a family run guesthouse/bed and breakfast in the centre of Kenmare, Co Kerry. Rooms are well-appointed and en-suite. Downstairs there is a friendly bar bistro where guests can relax in front of the open fire and a restaurant serving some of the best food in town. Groups and tours welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davitts Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.