We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oakfield Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakfield Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Oakfield Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Dauros, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
New Ulm, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a bit baffled by the good reviews. That was not the experience that we had. We were not made to feel welcomed. We were shown our room, which was nice enough. We were told we could find the breakfast room in the morning, then the lady left for the evening. We never saw her in the morning, just heard her complaining in the kitchen. The man was nice enough when we did find the breakfast room. We never did get their names. Perhaps they don't like to be bothered by people only spending one night?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianMorty O, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Jean and Dan.

Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy our stay with us, and we are disappointed that you did not bring your concerns to us before you left.
We cannot understand how you did not know our names, it is on our business cards in the hall, its mentioned several times in our guest booklet in the bedrooms should you have taken the time to read it, and not once in our 27 years in business have we NOT introduced ourselves to a guest! so how you didn't know our names genuinely baffles us!

you end your review with a question, " Perhaps they don't like to be bothered by people only spending one night? " . In response to this I urge you to read the other reviews, especially the review by casualtraveller8 on June 29th 2012. Morty and I pride ourselves on high hospitality, and it doesn't matter if you are on a 10 night stay in our balcony suite or if you knock on our door, lost and at your wits in like casual traveller 8, every person is treated with the same Irish welcome.

Kind regards,

Marian and Morty O'Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Marion and Marty are lovely houses and make you feel right at home from the minute you arrive at their Bed & Breakfast. Conveniently located 3km from the quaint village of Kenmare, Oakfield is the perfect home base for travels around the Ring of Kerry and surrounding towns. Our room was spacious (and the bathroom even more spacious) with plenty of room for spreading out and settling in. We had s skylight over our bed and a sitting area that looked out over the bay. GORGEOUS! Marion and Marty were so helpful - with everything from which pub had the best music to which attractions we should be sure not to miss. Breakfast was delicious (the best homemade brown bread we had!) and the dining area was comfortable and welcoming! Kenmare was one of our favorite parts of Ireland and our stay at Oakfield was WONDERFUL!! We WILL go back....

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and in the back - super quiet and private. They had converters for our electr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianMorty O, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Greetings from Oakfield.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our home in the future.

Kind Regards

Marian and Morty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

If you wish to experience genuine Irish hospitality, this is the place to find it. These people are delightfully warm and generous hosts. We experienced problems with noise from other guests on our first night there. Marion offered to move us to a room away from the noise the following morning. We have been travelling for several weeks and she also offered to do our laundry for us which was very appreciated. Morty was knowledgeable about the local area and assisted us with routes and information. You would drive a long way to find people more inclined to help and welcome you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianMorty O, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Greetings from Oakfield.

We are humbled by your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back to Oakfield in the future.

Kind Regards

Marian and Morty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We actually didn't get to stay at Oakfield B&B, but we were greatly assisted by the family. We had reservations with another B&B close by and had lots of problems with them. They weren't there when we arrived to check in, so we stopped at Oakfield B&B to ask their advice. They offered us tea and biscuits and called the B&B owner for us. Eventually our owners showed up and we went and checked in, but if it wasn't for Oakfield B&B, I don't know what we would have done. They were so wonderful. They didn't have to be so helpful and kind, but it was greatly appreciated and needed. Next time I will stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland and we would love to welcome you back to our home in the near future.

Kind Regards

Marian Morty & Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This year was our second stay here and we don't see how we can go to Ireland again without staying here to enjoy the comfort, food, friendliness and travel advice. Marian's advice on making soda bread has resulted in this addition to our home diet. Morty's wealth of knowledge of the local roads makes for a touring route where you can feel you have the road to yourself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi Roger
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. It is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oakfield in the near future.

Kind Regards

Marian Morty & Girls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The room we stayed in was carpeted and had an odd smell and because of the midges we couldn't open the windows to let some fresh air in. Breakfast and hospitality were good, no complaints there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi Patrizia

Thank you for your review. We value all feedback here at Oakfield. What did baffle us however was when we traced the date of your stay back to our visitor comment book in the hallway your sentiments were quite different and your comment was very flattering. We would have loved for you to bring your concerns to our attention during your stay so we could have rectified it immediately. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and our good hospitality which we pride ourselves on.

Kind Regards

Marian, Morty & Girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

A lovely family house in a beautiful part of the world.Rooms and food first class. BUT and even more important was the warmth, friendliness and helpfulness of Marion and Morty. They pointed out the places to go to and hints on how to avoid the big traffic. Ended up on roads which were challenging but breathtakingly spectacular. Thank you. We will return time after time I hope. We come to Ireland every year and stay in B&Bs everywhere but this is one of a special handful.

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Paul.

Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Ireland and to Oakfield in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Marian, Morty & Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dauros, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakfield Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.