We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great food, excellent accomadation and wonderfull setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brook Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Brook Lane Hotel
Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great staff, great food, excellent accomadation and wonderfull setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Staying at brook lane was a wonderful experience from first moment to last. the staff are extremely warm, friendly and accommodating. We travelled with our 2 young children (5 & 15 months) and they couldn't do enough from washing bottles to arranging baby sitters to directing us to playgrounds etc and other attractions kids would enjoy. The accommodation was bright and extremely spacious and anything we needed they provided. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Great to hear you had a wonderful experience with your family while staying with us in Brook Lane
A lot of People come to kenmare at this time of year to go walking and cycling ,we have complimentary bikes for guests if they wish to use them and local walking guides
Hope to see you back here sometime
Regards
Una Brennan - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    112
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
325
22
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruff, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I had a one night stay mid September. The hotel has the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. They made us feel really at home. The room was lovely,, very comfortable. The Bistro was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Kenmare.

Bernadette, Limerick, Ireland

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for your lovely review ,hope to see you back at our hotel soon, we have some great Autumn and Winter offers so keep a look out on our website
kind regards
Una Brennan - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in July and loved this hotel. We had a lovely big bedroom, the decor throughout the hotel was very nice, good breakfasts, a short walk into the beautiful town of Kenmare and last but by no means least friendly & helpful staff; in particular the effort they went to to return the clothes to us that we left behind in our room. For that we would like to say a great big THANK YOU to Una and Siobhan!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments about you stay at our Hotel ,and we hope to see you again
Una Brennan owner -Brook Lane Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth Oldham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Im not sure how many times we have stayed at this wonderful hotel now but every time it just seems to get better and better. All the staff there our so warm and friendly and yet really efficient and helpful - nothing is too much trouble for Siobhaun, James and Pat - they really make you feel so welcome. this time we were in a suite - pure luxury with a huge comfy bed, cosy sitting area and balcony and a great bathroom with lovely products to use - great to have a long soak in the jacuzzi bath after those walks on the Ring of Kerry and Beara. As usual the breakfasts were gorgeous served in the spacious dining room up to 11 o clock each day. As part of our package we also had a couple of dinners in the restaurant and again the quality of the food and the speed of service was great.
Not sure what else I can say to let you know just how good it is but f you like a little bit of luxury in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere with staff with staff who make you feel especially welcome then this is the place to go. Thanks again to Una and all the team -see you later in the year

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for your lovely review ,All our staff are local and live in and around kenmare ,they are delighted you enjoyed your stay,We now have complimantery walking guides for guests who want to explore the lovely Beara and Kenmare walks ,so we will keep some for your next visit
regards
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bazzad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Visited with wives and kids for something to eat on 16th august 2010. Food was really, really, really excellent in the bistro. Butternut squash tortellini my wife says was the best vegetarian dish she has had in years. Burger was one of the best I have had as was my sister in laws. Staff were very pleasant. We found it a real breath of fresh air to get such wonderful food, wonderful service and at very sensible prices. Will look forward to visiting many times in the future.Please keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments abour our food in Casey's Bistro at Brook Lane ,Our aim to to source all our ingredients locally and provide good food at great value to all our customers .We make all our Burgers in House form Certified Irish Hereford Beef ,so delighted you enjoyed them
Best Regards
Una Brennan - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

As a hotelier myself, I was really impressed! Superb staff (keen and well informed) and really excellent, unfussy ..but inventive..food. The very best produce was promised AND delivered.

The attached pub like restaurant punches well above its weight and if you decide to eat in the smarter restaurant, where the food is similar, you still won't be disappointed.

I haven't paid the bill yet....preferring to write this review before the wallet is raided.

I'm not a fan of the ever present and occasionally intrusive music....but others may be fine with it.

Other pluses are tea and coffee brought to your room...NO horrible room kettle etc..
Really good beds, a very decent breakfast....

Just go

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Came down for the bank holiday weekend with my wife and her Dad. It's a 4 minute walk from the hotel into the heart of Kenmare village. Location wise I think this is perfect, as the centre of Kenmare can be quite lively until well after my bedtime. The hotel has a street hoarding out on the pavement advertising "Really Nice Rooms", and you know what; that is the absolute truth. We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of evenings and we were all very impressed with both the service and the food. The staff are really friendly, with excellent tips for day trips.

There are a few tiny details, a missing sink plug here, an absent soap dispenser there, which would stop me from giving the Brook absolutely top marks; it is also another hotel which insists on playing pop music in the breakfast room (2FM in this case) which is one of my pet hates. And someone really needs to lock up the piano when the bar closes, as some Brahms & Liszt pianist insisted in attacking the David Bowie back catalogue at 3am one night.

However, I'm being picky. We had a very good deal, and we all enjoyed our stay in this very well kept, stylish hotel. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for you glowing review abour our hotel,we really enjoyed having you,your wife and Father in Law stay with us,We have taken your comments on board and hope to see you again soon
Una Brennan -Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel Family run and Managed with all local Irish Staff .In Casey's bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally ,Ample free car parking and Complimentary Wi-fi in all bedrooms.Phone direct for Seasonal offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.