We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenmare Failte Hostel

Kenmare Failte Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kenmare Failte Hostel to your Saves list
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A family run hostel. Very welcoming and friendly staff. The kitchen is authentic irish country style. The facilities were spotless. Parking is an issue here. Notices around including rules could be worded a bit better. All in all I would recommend this place. It was secure and well run.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There is a public free car park just 3 doors from our Hostel. With regards to the wording of the notices - would you mind letting us know how we could word it better and we can look into it? We'd appreciate it.
Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Thank you so much for making such a welcoming home- for this is what it feels like, much less a hostel. I loved the kitchen where people naturally met each other, and me and my friend met so many interesting and lovely people through staying at this place. Just missed a cat by the aga and I could have imagined I was at home! And the location is excellent, Kenmare is a great place to experience the culture of the pub life complete with music in just about every pub in town! And the hostel is within a short walk of all of them!! The countryside around is just amazing too. Definitely the place I remember with great fondness as I look back on my Ireland holiday.

Room Tip: The ones at the front of the hostel have a great view down the street of quaint Kenmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you felt at home...Kindest Regards, Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Fáilte recently as part of a small cycling group and were really pleased.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with plenty of hooks for hanging clothes, something other hostels lack. The kitchen facilites are superb and the Aga is always on so even on a miserable wet day the whole place is cosy. And clean, the bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen are all so spotless. There are bike racks outside. If you don't want to cook-in then all the restaurants and cafés and pubs of Kenmare are on your doorstep. And the staff is always friendly and helpful. Having the owners on site rather than a warden makes a huge difference. Kenmare is a great spot for cycing, hillwalking for just a weekend away, and the Fáilte is definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest Regards, Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have mountain-biked over 2,000 miles in Ireland staying in numerous hostels and campgrounds. The Failte Hostel in Kenmare is my absolute favorite. The location is excellent. The rooms are large, airy, clean, and have the best beds. The bathrooms are spotless and the WiFi access is free with a good signal. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. There are several bike racks in the rear to securely store your ride and a bicycle shop right across the street if you need some work done. This hostel is easily my #1 recommendation in Ireland.

Room Tip: Book in advance, especially for the weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Wow! It's comments like these that make it worthwhile...thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest Regards, Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights with a group of friends from Limerick to walk in Gleninchaquin Park. The accommodation is warm,spotlessly clean and very spacious. We got a lovely warm welcome to the Kingdom from the owners! The hostel is a perfect location for Kenmare's cafes, tea shops, art galleries, pubs and restaurants. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you will visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you again! Kindest Regards, Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This independent hostel in Kenmare town is clean, organised, homely and spacious - all in one. The owner is friendly and welcoming. I especially liked the different eating areas so that we were not intruding on other guests when we ate our fish and chips, noisily, after a lovely day's cycling. The hostel has bike parking, albeit uncovered and the other facilities leave nothing to be desired.

We had a four-person room and it was very spacious - most hostels would have fitted four more beds in that room.

Room Tip: As well as dorms there is a range of private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us...thanks again, Aoife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while doing a cycle around the Ring of Kerry and could not have been happier with my choice while in Kenmare. The hostel is spotlessly clean, there are 2 kitchen/dining areas one containing an old Aga range that made it so cosy. The sitting room is full of character. I got the warmest of welcomes and later Aoife even offered to share her own evening meal with me. I stayed in a dorm room for €18 for the night, the bed was very comfortable and had a nice warm duvet. Overall, a great experience at Failte Hostel and I will definately be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmarefailtehostel, Manager at Kenmare Failte Hostel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenmare Failte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Failte Hostel

Address: Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded 'The Best IHH Town Hostel in Ireland, & Failte Ireland approved since 1986, Kenmare Failte Hostel is family-run and 'A Home from Home', situated in the centre of Kenmare town - across from the Post Office on the corner of Shelbourne Street. We provide private rooms en-suite as well as dormitory rooms for a very reasonable price. There is a fully equipped self-catering Kitchen with Aga Cooker which is always on creating a very welcoming atmosphere, where you can cook - have a cup of 'free' tea or coffee, and have an interesting chat with the hostel team & other guests...and if that doesn't interest you - there is a sitting-room and dining room with many reading material to choose from, along with board games, and 'free to air' satellite stations. There is also a DVD player with a selection of films to watch. The latest releases can also be rented from the local DVD shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kenmare Failte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenmare Failte Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.