We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbour View to your Saves list
Harbour View
Dauros, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here, unexpectedly during a drive around the south or Ireland. I fell in love with the view and the surroundings.
The view from the front bed room was second to none. I could have sat and looked out the window for days.
The decor was kitsch with modern touches.

The breakfast was beautiful, the dinning area comfortable and offered the same stunning views.

I'll be looking this one up for my next trip.

Room Tip: Get the front room, so worth the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

What a pleasure it was to stay in this lovely B&B. The view was absolutely incredible and well worth the short scenic drive out from town center. Our hostess, Maureen, was warm and welcoming and provided us with a delicious gourmet breakfast, overlooking the harbor. The en suite rooms were clean and very comfortable. We would look forward to a return visit to this pretty B&B, and highly recommend for your next visit to Kenmare.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We mistakenly drove to Harbour View B&B only to find we could not leave. The view was unmatched and the B&B was the nicest in which I have stayed in all my travels through Europe. Everything was perfectly situated and immaculate. There were so many extra touches given that Harvour View reminded me of a top-rated hotel. The hostess was both friendly and helpful. And that view! I find it difficult to believe this gem just outside Kenmare does not receive more attention from travel guides. I suppose the travel experts want to place you in the hub of the cities, but there is nothing like a night of quiet reflection in the midst of the best view among the area's B&Bs.

Room Tip: Most rooms are ensuite and all have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I spent two splendid nights at the Harbour View B&B earlier this week. The facilities are impeccable-- our bedroom and the common areas looked to have been sterilized, they're very attractively appointed and the breakfast room is set in a beautiful greenhouse with a magnificent view of the sea; the full Irish breakfast itself is fabulous, and served on beautiful china.

But it was the warmth, generosity of spirit and helpfulness of the proprietress, Mrs. McCarthy, that shone through when we had car trouble that really caught our attention. Without her kind (and exceedingly efficient) assistance in getting the car replaced with one that actually worked, we'd have lost at least a day's worth of sightseeing; we are very grateful to her for all her help and sympathetic spirit. And she wouldn't even let us pay for the long distance phone calls!

Our advice is to book early so as not to miss out on this wonderful property and its delightful host!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view-- just spectacular and very soothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My father and I spent two nights here. The hosts were kind enough to upgrade our room for us on the second night, as the larger one was available. We were on quite a long vacation, and I was perfectly content to just relax in the room while my dad went about golfing and sightseeing. Really a very pretty home and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed three nights at Harbour View and found it very difficult to leave. We dearly would like to have stayed longer. The B&B is ideally situated on the Ring of Beara and near the Ring of Kerry, and just far enough out of Kenmare to enjoy some real peace and quiet, yet close enough to the town to shop, eat, etc. Maureen was a very gracious hostess, with nothing too much for us. She was incredibly helpful in advising what to do, where to go and where to dine. Our room was well layed out, extremely clean and very comfortable. And the breakfasts - they were the best we expereinced in Ireland. The banana pancakes were to die for! We will return to Ireland and will certainly make Harbour View our number one choice around Kenmare. We have no hesitation in recommending Harbour View.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anger, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

look at the view !!!
perfect hosts and breakfast. nice rooms, reasonable rates.
free wifi in the living room.
we'll be back again !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View

Address: Dauros, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 diamond award winning luxurious seashore home with panoramic views over Kenmare Bay. 2 minutes walk from restaurant/bar, serving fresh seafood, and from Star Sailing Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.