We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare

Save Saved
You added Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare to your Saves list
Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare
Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delightful and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Rosegarden B&B is delightful, and it is also unique because it is part of a French bakery and cafe. Jerome is the French chef and Vladimira seems to be in charge of everything else. They make a great team, and they work very hard to keep their customers happy.
Our room was in the back, very quiet. It was spacious, comfortable, and pleasantly decorated. I did not find a hairdryer, but I suspect Vladimira would have loaned me one had I asked. There was free parking, and wi-fi was available in the cafe area.
Breakfast was one of the best we had in Ireland. The full, hearty Irish breakfast was accompanied with not just brown bread, but also a fresh-out-of-the-oven French baguette.The continental breakfast included an assortment of mouthwatering pastries. There was no problem in customizing my breakfast to combine a taste of both! And there was so much to eat (help-yourself cereal. yogurt,and fruit), we were well satisfied until dinner time.
We stayed 3 pleasant nights, and it was not enough time to sample all of the delectable goodies that came from Jerome's kitchen.
The lesson learned from our experience? If you have an opportunity to stay at a B&B run by a French chef, take it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The place is owned by a french couple who bake all their pastries and bread onsite. The pastries are extremely good and reasonably priced.
We were welcomed with a cup of coffee when we arrived. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was superb. Not surprising as the chap is a french chef. We were only passing through but it would be an ideal spot to stay for a week and really see the area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Lovely B&B in Kenmare (about 5-10min walk to the city centre). Rooms are nice, the hosts are friendly - and breakfast is incredible! If you love pastry, you should definitely go for the continental breakfast. One of the hosts is a pastry chef, so breakfast will include fresh baguette, pain au chocolat, croissants and other pastry. As one of the other guests put it: "the best smelling B&B in Ireland"...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We arrived in Kenmare in the middle of our 8 day cycling trip, and boy oh boy, were the fresh pastries ever a treat! The B&B itself is nice, and located only a short 10 min. walk from the centre of Kenmare. Amenities were plenty, athough the decor was a bit too washed out Provencial for my liking. There is a nice lawn out front to play a quick game of footie too. And the hostess was brilliant... she asked her daughter to bring out some toys for our toddler to play with! But best of all is the fresh pastry and baked goods. What an amazing breakfast! If you're cycling through Kenmare, then this is the place to lodge!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed here for a week and was very happy with it. Reasonable price, comfortable beds, and quiet. The breakfasts were excellent. If you like French pastries, this is the place to go! I don't think I've had a better croissant outside of Paris.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the Rosegarden for almost a week and really enjoyed it. The owners are very friendly and the food is excellent. Jerome is a French pastry chef so we skipped the Irish breakfasts and chose his croissants, baguettes, pain au chocolat and cinnamon twists instead because they were so delicious. It is a very short, easy walk to the city center along a path, making it an ideal location. Very reasonably priced. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Myself and five others stayed here for a night in April and were delighted with everything. The service is friendly, the rooms are clean and nice, the breakfast was delicious and huge and the pastries were amazing! And just a short stroll from the town centre. Overall can't fault the place and will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosegarden Guest House Kenmare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.