We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world fish and chips ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whartons Traditional Fish and Chips

Whartons Traditional Fish and Chips
35 Main St | 2 New Street, Bantry, Co. Cork, Kenmare, Ireland
+353 64 664 2622
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Kenmare
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: "Kenmare, in Co Kerry, has its unfair share of places to eat, but you'll miss one of its finest attractions if you confine yourself to the restaurants that feature in guide books. Wharton's Traditional Fish & Chips, in the town centre, is a gem. My cod was encased in the finest, lightest batter, into which crushed black peppercorns had been incorporated. It was so fresh I swear I saw it twitch as it hit the oil. The chips are hand-cut from potatoes that are, amazingly, chosen for their "fryability". And they have cider vinegar if you fancy a change from the stuff you usually get in chippers..." Tom Doorley (Irish Times)
Winter Haven, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world fish and chips ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My friend and I recently vacationed in Ireland and stayed near Kenmare Ireland. While walking in Kenmare we found Wharton's Traditional Fish and Chips and were blown away with the quality. Each time we ate there our fish and chips were made to order. We also learned that they make their own tarter sauce. I think they add some mystery ingredient to it because all I needed was a spoon. It was a great experience, delicious food and friendly workers. We also learned that this was family owned. We hope that you enjoy Wharton's Fish and Chips in Kenmare just as much as we did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    22
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caherdaniel, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent quality and huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We did take out - fish is fresh, batter is light and portions are huge - we should have split a serving.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Freshest fish around and super chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ate at the new Whartons in Bantry. We didn't set out looking to eat fish and chips but were enticed by the cleanliness and the fact that everything looked really fresh. And this was no disappointment. The hake and cod were battered in front of us and were so beautiful. Large portions and beautifully presented. The chips were to die for. Will definitely try the one in kenmare next time. Plus the staff were so friendly here too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Absolutely, hands down, the best fish and chips I have ever had anywhere! And the amount of fish you get is unreal. The guy behind the counter was hilarious too, chatting with everyone and making everyone laugh. We got ours to take away, with extra tartar, and a side of onion rings. My mouth is watering just thinking about it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcomerstown, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We loved our experience at Wharton's Fish and Chips. The manager himself fried our fish and chips for us, and they were perfectly fried. He also directed us to a charming spot by the sea to eat our meal. The true experience - the sea breeze, friends, laughter, and piping hot fish and chips. What a meal! Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whartons Traditional Fish and Chips also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Whartons Traditional Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whartons Traditional Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.