We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time travel with a nice walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gleninchaquin

Gleninchaquin
Bonane, Kenmare, Ireland
353-64-84235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Kenmare
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cork
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Time travel with a nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went here years ago fishing with my father, Uncle and my wife, hadn't been back in 13 years or more, they have done a fantastic job opening it up for walkers and non fishing tourists.
Walked over to the famine cottage, then over the back of the waterfall and back down.
Unspoilt, glorious, quiet and peaceful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    27
    5
    3
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Fabulous feel of the Irish countryside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited the area while staying in Kenmare. This venue was referred to us by our accommodation hosts. Upon arrival to the park we were greeted by a local who explained all that there was to do. We decided to make the 1 1/2hr walk up and around the waterfall. The walk was moderate with stunning views along the way. We took our time and 1 1/2 hrs later we arrived back at the car park. Would REALLY recommend this for anyone wanting to get the true feel of the Irish countryside. For us it was pretty much the highlight of our Irish visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Special views we remember fondly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have read some of the varied reviews. We found this to be the place we keep remembering with a smile after the whole trip in 2008. Enjoy the unusual sheep (heritage types, I believe) -- see them up close. We didn't do major hikes, but thoroughly enjoyed the walking path by the falls. We really look forward to returning and allowing more time so we can do some good hikes. It is well worth the little fee -- is it 6 euros? Maybe strollers would be hard on the walks? The road to get there was one lane with turn-outs, but not very traveled in September -- well worth the drive for us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a glorious hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found out about Gleninchaquin Park from Eclipse Activity, Adventure and Equestrian Center. My husband and I were blown away from the drive into the park. We hiked up and over Inchiquin Falls and it was a good aggressive hike. The views all along the way made each and every step worth the sweat. This was my third trip to Ireland and this was some of the most spectacular scenery yet. Fantastic!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Most magnificent waterfall and hike I have experienced yet in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This was pretty out of the way for the ring of Kerry trip, but we wanted to get off the beaten path. It's 6 eur to get in and completely worth it. Most waterfalls do not have so many facets and cannot be found out in the open next to grazing sheep and horses. The setting alone was great and the waterfall made it spectacular. A must see in Ireland!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gleninchaquin also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Gleninchaquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleninchaquin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.