We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Save
You added Shelburne Lodge to your Saves list
Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent 2 nights here during our 2 week trip around Ireland. The accommodation was lovely, we stayed in the coach house which is outside but very well done. Its a short walk into town which has plenty of shops and pubs. Breakfast is great and definitely one of the best we had Ireland. Our hosts were delightful and made us feel very welcome, we were rather sad to leave. I would certainly recommend Shelburne Lodge in Kenmare.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    13
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
91
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed one night at Shelburne Lodge and we only wished we had planned to stay longer. The rooms all offer individual charm and are finished to a high standard. We were welcomed warmly on arrival and were treated to freshly brewed tea and coffee and cake! The Lodge is located 500m from the town centre, so it's an easy stroll into the pubs, restaurants, but when at the lodge, you feel like you are in the countryside as the lodge is set back of the street amongst established trees. Breakfast was included in the rate, and the selection on offer is vast - A full irish breakfast, homemade breads, mini pancakes, fresh fruits, cheeses and much more!
Lovely, accommodating hosts! It's very easy to recommend Shelburne Lodge.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the lawn area, with large windows, it is beautifully sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We truly enjoyed our two night stay at the Shelburne Lodge. It is a gracious, historic building, with generously sized, charmingly furnished rooms with en suite bathrooms. The hosts were welcoming and knowledgable about the area, ready with recommendations from restaurants to sights, to the best way to get where you are going. The breakfasts were wonderful, enhanced by fresh herbs from their garden. After a week of touring, the Shelburne Lodge was far and away the best place we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights and resolved to return to Kenmare and the Shelburne. Tom and Moira have poured their hearts into the restoration of their historic and lovely Lodge. The are delightful and helpful hosts. Tom supplies the history of the house and Moira introduced us to the Kenmare restaurant scene. They are a charming and dynamic duo we are glad to have met.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and advised as to where to eat dinner. The room was lovely. We were able to easily walk into town. Breakfast was delicious and not overwhelming as we could order from a menu.
Highly recommend the Shelburne Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Shelburne Lodge for two nights, returning after a visit of about ten years ago. Everything we recalled liking was still present---a gracious and comfortable building, wonderful hosts, a FABULOUS breakfast, good restaurant recommendations, comfortable rooms, easy parking and an easy walk to town. Tom and Maura have perfected the art of running an excellent lodge----present and helpful when needed and otherwise unobtrusive and going about their lives. Maura is the wonderful breakfast chef and Tom is the "front of the house"---keeping an eye on each guests and providing Irish history and lore. All of the staff are equally professional yet friendly----and your first name will be known and used by all.

We really liked Kenmare and were very happy to be there rather than Killarney which seems in some ways to be a victim of its own success---overbuilt and very busy. Kenmare is a lovely town with plenty of restaurants at all levels and also good pubs. One of the many great things about Shelburne Lodge is that it is an easy walk to town on sidewalks with lighting at night. So the car can be left behind and the pub can be enjoyed.

Just a great spot---hope we can return sooner than 10 years!

Room Tip: We were in room 6, a corner room in the front of the house and had a lovely view over the yard. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were blown away by our lovely one night stay at Shelburne. Tom and Moira were incredibly warm, welcoming, and had very interesting stories to tell at the breakfast table. We especially appreciated how kind and accommodating they were as we were travelling with our elderly grandmother. The location is very good - just a 2 minute drive from Kenmare town centre (probably walking distance but we couldn't walk that far with granny). The room we were shown to was beautiful and huge! It was full of light with sunshine streaming through the windows with a view of the gardens. The room had a big king sized bed that was a little on the firm side. The bathroom was spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast was really exceptional - 2 courses! I highly recommend trying the porridge with whiskey cream - when in Ireland... Absolutely recommend this place - our stay from start to end was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.