We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming and Friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Save
You added Shelburne Lodge to your Saves list
Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So welcoming and Friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wonderful hospitality. Booked out all the rooms as we were in kenmare for a family wedding. Rooms were lovely and the breakfasts were fantastic. Everyone in our party kept commenting on what a super find this guest house was. Would not hesitate to recommend this gorgeous place. Thanks to all for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    13
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
89
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shelburne Lodge while in Kenmare. This beautiful home has an interesting history and is well appointed and comfortable. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious-restaurant quality! Thank you to our hosts for taking the time to talk to us about the Kenmare area and assist us in making plans. Great golf course just across the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tom and Maura were the most gracious hosts. They welcomed us, and were very helpful with activity and eating suggestions. Breakfast was generous and delicious with plenty of choices. The room was quite large and cheery. The town center is a short walk, with plenty of places for food, drink and music. We visited the Kenmare Stone Circle on the west side of town. A dolmen grave is in the center, and the whole green is ringed by a hedge of trees. (A Witch's tree is on the edge of the stone circle -- do NOT harm it, or the prayer papers that might be attached. You might offer one of your own -- as I did, since I was driving those roads.)

Room Tip: The grounds and gardens are nice, so there are several good views. (A pheasant was prowling the und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had such an amazing stay @ the Shelburne; not only is the house beautiful but Maura and Tom were absolutely lovely. The food was delicious (Maura is a chef!) and tea by the fireplace I still think of often, with a smile. Highly recommended to anyone looking to stay in Kenmare and/or driving the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I made a phone booking on Wednesday June 6th, for one night, the following Sunday. My wife and I drove to Kenmare from Dublin on the Sunday. We arrived in the town at approx 3.30pm and phoned the Lodge for exact directions. At this point, my wife was told that the room we had booked had been originally booked by somebody else last January and the double booking had gone unnoticed. We were being offered other accomodation, but I hung up the phone as to me it was a way to get somebody down to Kenmare and then pawn them off to their friends in other B&B's who had room. I didn't fall for this and drove straight home again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Out of our vacation to Scotland and Ireland this was our favorite!! We stayed 3 nights and we were sad to leave. The house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The room very spacious, clean, beautiful and we had a lovely view of the grounds. Maura and Tom were so lovely as well! Breakfast was so delicious in a beautiful dining room. Highly recommend having the crab cakes if it is on the menu (they change the fish/seafood daily). They were the best I have ever had! And the Irish pancakes were incredible with the rhubarb compote over fresh yogurt. Oh my goodness! We couldn't have asked for anything more and then Maura gave me a couple of her recipes! It is within walking distance to town which is another plus. The town of Kenmare was so adorable, also one of our favorites in Ireland. Tom and Maura had suggestions for sight seeing which I am so happy that they shared with us. Made our sight seeing so doable and we were not completely exhausted afterwards. Excellent stay!! Thank you Tom and Maura!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We did not have a reservation and "happened" into the Shelburne Lodge. Our stay was wonderful with the best breakfast of our 15 day stay in Ireland. A short, pleasant walk to town- I would highly recommend Shelburne Lodge for a stay in kenmare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.