We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Welcoming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelburne Lodge
Save
You added Shelburne Lodge to your Saves list
Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
california
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Very Welcoming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent two nights here and could not have been more delighted. We were welcomed by Maura, an ex-chef, who is so charming and energetic. Her husband Tom is great and handles the breakfast which is absolutely wonderful while also providing history lessons on the area or for that matter, anywhere in the world!!! They have a daughter who is sweet and helpful as well. Tom also is like a walking atlas so be sure to check your directions out of the place with him before you leave as he may have a short cut and keep you off the Ring of Kerry (unless you want to do it again).
Our room was very nice and we had two windows so we could see beautiful greenery.It is too bad that they don't offer dinner since we didn't find anything amazing in the area. We ate at Packies which was fair and Tom Crean which actually was pretty good and much better then Packies. I would return to the lodge in a minute and it is walking distance into the cute town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    13
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
90
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for better hosts or a better place to stay. This place is very clean and the breakfast was amazing. The hosts, Tom and Maura, make you feel right at home and also provide excellent recommendations for where to eat in Kenmare! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tustin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

great location to walk in to town. Old Country feel. Great breakfast. Clean rooms! Lovely visist

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Shelburne Lodge is an excellent small hotel (more than a B&B) in a lovely old house with beautiful gardens. Walking distance into Kenmare, but very quiet (set off from the road). Our room was very nice and airy, with antique furniture and fresh flowers, beds very comfortable. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic: served in a charming dining room, you choose one first course (fresh fruit w/ yogurt, poached peaches, tc... ) and one second course - full Irish breakfast, pancakes, smoked salmon, omelettes, fresh fish. The fresh fish was excellent - we'd never had that for breakfast before, and were converted. Kenmare is a pretty small town with lots of pubs and restaurants, and a very good base for tours of Ring of Kerry, Killarney etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Shelburne lodge set on beautifull gardens. There was fresh flowers in every room and i am still dreaming about the food. The family of the house were also extremely welcoming, i had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a memorable three day stay at Shelburne Lodge. Everything was perfect, or nearly so, starting with the warm welcome from the inkeeper and her family. Throughout our stay, she, her husband and her daughter continued to be of the utmost friendliness and helpfulness in making us feel welcome and in giving advice on things to do and see in the area.
The lodge itself is a large, historic manor house. Guests have available to them a beautifully appointed, yet cozy living room complete with working fireplace. We were ensconced in a large corner room with views over the ample lawn of magnificent centuries-old trees. The room was completely quiet, since the house is well removed from the main road and protected by large trees and plantings from traffic noise. And to top it off, the three breakfasts we enjoyed were of gourmet caliber, especially the amazing optional fish course consisting of freshly prepared dover sole. Finally, the lodge is very conveniently located to "downtown" Kenmare with its wonderful pubs and bustling traditional Irish music just a 5 or 10 minute walk away.
The only possible complaint we had was with the somewhat antiquated bathtub/shower, which was a bit tricky to operate at first. But we got the hang of it, and it did not spoil our stay in the slightest.
I must say I have read, but cannot understand the negative reviews of this marvelous hostelry in TripAdvisor. Suffice it to say, some people do not appear to have engaged in the necessary planning and preparation that must precede a vacation trip, particularly when there are special medical or health needs at issue. Yes, there are stairs in Shelburne Lodge, but there were stairs in every B&B we stayed in. And yes, one gets what one pays for. Shelburne Lodge is not Econo Lodge. But neither is it overpriced. To the contrary, I believe it is very reasonably priced for what one gets -- a memorable stay in a very warm, romantic country inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have stayed in the Shelbourne Lodge twice and would highly recommend it. Great rooms, superb breakfast and great service. To quote the ex Governator 'I'll be back!!!!'

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelburne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne Lodge

Address: Killowen Road | Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Shelburne Hotel Kenmare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.