We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenmare Heritage Centre

Kenmare Heritage Centre
The Square, Kenmare, Ireland
353-64-41233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 attractions in Kenmare
Type: History Museums, Shops, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Casa Grande, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful little museum. Watch lace made in the traditional way and buy some of the handmade product from local artists.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilltown, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good information and interesting display”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very well set out and spacious centre with plenty of information at hand, helpful staff and a very interesting display on Kenmare and the stone circles.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Closed early.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We based our trip from Killarney to Kenmare on this attraction and checked the hours. We made it there before the scheduled closing and we made it there before the little personal note on the door said it was closing, but it was already closed. We had been excited to see this place--and it was our only example of lace making that we included on this trip to Ireland. We were very disappointed to not be able to view this attraction and by default not see any examples of Irish lace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It has some nice information about the area in the building. And if you need to know anything about the Kerry area, the people working in the tourist office are most helpful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting heritage centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stopped in the heritage centre for a quick look, and got engrossed in the history of the place and the people for nearly an hour! Well laid out, not overly long info panels, nice displays, e.g. local lacework. It doesn't have to be raining to make this a worthwhile stop. Tourist information shares the same building.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenmare Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Kenmare Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenmare Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kenmare Heritage Centre to your Saves list