We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenmare favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lansdowne Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Street, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Kenmare
Dubai, U.A.E.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Kenmare favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed inthe Lansdowme Arms from July 3rd - 5th and I can say that it was one of the most pleasant few days I've enjoyed recently. From the very friendly reception staff to the wonderful breakfast staff and the cheerful bar staff, it was all a special experience. Added to all of that was a wonderful family variety show in the bar at night. The show which consisted of song,dance & music by a whole family made my stay very memorable indeed and one which I will look forward to enjoying again as soon as possible. Well done to all concerned. I had a beautiful room and secure parking in the hotel car park.

Room Tip: I requested and got a ground floor room because of my gamy leg. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneArms, Owner at Lansdowne Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
The Quill family responds: Thank you Silver Fox for your lovely review, our staff really appreciated your kind comments as did Realog the musicians you referred to in your review.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lansdowne very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
48
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here last night on a hen party We had a fantastic meal as part of the package which was lovely. The staff were extremely pleasant, very efficient check in. This place is so central, it is a hub of activity. Great breakfast. I really would recommend this establishment to people of all ages. Its staff and location are first class.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

(Couldn't find a review page for the pub alone, so have added it to their hotel site).
We (4 adults) popped in on Wednesday 27th June initially just for a drink, but as it was almost lunch time and we'd spent a while going in and out of the many shops in the town, thought we'd stay for a bite to eat also. GOOD DECISION. We all had variants of sandwich/toastie and every crumb was eaten. The food was good quality and reasonably priced and although it was fairly busy at that time of day with tourists and locals alike, the atmosphere was relaxed. The two members of staff who served us were friendly and made us feel welcome. The evening menu looked appealing but alas, we couldn't fit in another visit during our stay as we'd pre booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lansdowne Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
The Quill family respond:
Thanks so much for your lovely comments, it is wonderful to get such great feedback and our staff here really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for three nights from 15 May 2012. Can highly recommend this very comfortable hotel right in the center of the bustling town of Kenmare. Only a very short stroll to all the varied restaurants and all those lively foot tapping pubs with Irish music. Hotel is very clean, bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed and there is a warm feeling of homeliness. The staff are professional and welcoming. A complaint about late night noise in an adjoining room was dealt with swiftly and diplomatically by the very genial receptionist Anne Quinn. The breakfasts are truly superb and served in the large delightful dining room by cheerful and attentive staff. This will be a must for our next visit to this beautiful part of Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The location was ideal being right near the ring of Kerry. Room was clean but it was super cold and damp on the ground floor. Breakfast was amazing. Porridge was phenomal and the scones were spectacular. The people at reception were super friendly and helpful. It was great

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lansdowne Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
The Quill family responds;
Thanks Tristan, we are proud of our breakfast in The Lansdowne and we hope that we create a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our guests.
Unfortunately June was so damp and cold this year and we were not surprised that it was the wettest June on record in Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel monday and tuesday of this week wow what a really lovely hotel the room was on the ground floor and really quite. The bed was so big and the room was spotless! I really loved the breakfast it was wonderful Thanks so much to Clodagh and staff who were most helpful will be back with the family but for longer next time! Really great family run hotel Marie Dublin

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nice hotel just on the edge of Town, nice bar and bar food and the staff are so friendly and attentive. Breakfast was fantastic - try the porridge, it was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LansdowneArms, Owner at Lansdowne Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
The Quill family responds;
Thanks so much for your comments, our award winning porridge has a special secret ingredient which is known only by Margaret the breakfast Chef !! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lansdowne Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Arms Hotel

Address: William Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Lansdowne Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Arms Kenmare
Hotel Lansdowne Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.