We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes to your Saves list
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Henry St, Kenmare 02123, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

stayed here for a couple of night room was very comfortable and the décor was bright and airy
breakfast was very good on both mornings and the young girl waiting on the tables was chatty friendly and very good at her job
the evening menu was very tasty also
complementary wifi is available throughout the guest house
the only fault was there was no residence's bar
other then that great place very central

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Manager at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear BobbyOS
Many thanks for taking the time to update us on your stay at Foleys. We strive at all times to make our guests stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Thank you for your comments on our local staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,

Patrick Foley, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    39
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
40
50
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Didn't have a reservation but we got a room here - very reasonably priced at 35euro pp for bed & full irish breakfast. Nicely decorated rooms and lovely staff. We had an enormous bed in our room. One word of warning though if you plan on going to bed early do not take room 6 - the band (and they were good) kept us awake until 12.30 !! But in fairness normally we would have been up and in the pub at this time! We had our dinner here - mussels in white wine followed by and quiche & salad. Very nice ! Would stay here again. Very centrally located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond and your very positive comments.

Foley's town centre location is ideally situated and we are sorry that our Traditional Music kept you up a little longer that you wanted. Hopefully next time you visit you will be in the bar enjoying the music.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finistere, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Holiday house at No. 20 Ard Mullen Kenmare in a quiet neighborhood. A recent house very well equipped. The shops are nearby. We go to 5 people and the quality is as described in the announcement of the site. We had an exellent stay for our first trip to Ireland. There are many things to see in the region, and we intend to return. Irish people are very welcoming.
We were very well received in the Foley's Pub, we would have liked a manual in French.
I highly recommend this house.

The only negative point is the method of payment by the site "reseliva.com" which is not very easy to use, but it happens anyway.
and WIFI is not functional damage.

I put one of our 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Ardmullen Holiday Homes and that you enjoyed Kenmare. Our Holiday Homes are in a perfect location for touring the region. We work very hard to ensure the quality is maintained and that all visitors to Foley's Pub are welcomed for dinner, a drink or just a chat.

Thank you also for your comments on reseliva and the Wi Fi - both of which have been addressed.

Great suggestion for the manuals to be in other languages, we will put these in place, so that when you return you will see them.

Many thanks.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Køge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Placed in the middle of the town and only few problems finding a parking place. Our room had windows towards the living street. We enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and our breakfast fine. If we come this way again we'll probably go for Foleys.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - always great to hear. As Kenmare is a lively town, parking on the main streets during the day is busy but there are car parks within a few minutes walk of Foley's. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Foley`s is a nice and cosy B&B on a good location in Kenmare. We stayed there on our round trip in The Ring of Kerry. In the evening at the Foley`s bar we had the best experience of Irish folkmusic on our visit in Ireland this time. Also breakfast was good at the Foley`s

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Foley's is ideally situated being that it is in the centre of Kenmare, on the Ring of Kerry and as we aim to offer great Traditional Irish music, we are delighted that you had a great visit and enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your comments.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good food. Great breakfast. Our room was over the dining room & after we went to bed the music went on. Not for those wanting a quiet night. We also looked over a flat roof with a view of the washing. Anyway- we love Kenmare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main entertainment area-unless you want to join the revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to pass on your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed our food and accommodation. We do have live music every night throughout the season but we try to ensure that it does not finish too late for our guests. Our accommodation is ideal for guests who wish to stay in Kenmare Town and have utilised all the ground that we have to provide airy and spacious rooms.

Thanks again.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here in the off season and it was one of our favorite places. The location could not be more convenient for exploring the sweet town of Kenmar. The couple that runs the place were so nice. Because it was the off season they were able to join us for breakfast where we sat and enjoyed much conversation. The property is quaint and full of charm. The room was nicely decorated, clean and had a comfortable bed. We will definitely be staying here when we return in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the street. Nice view and bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we enjoy chatting to our guests whenever we have the time and during the off season we have more time to sit and get to know our visitors to Kenmare. Foley's has been providing accommodation for over two decades and is very traditional.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes

Address: 16 Henry St, Kenmare 02123, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foley's Townhouse is a family run, award-winning guesthouse, restaurant and Traditional Irish Music pub in the centre of Kenmare. Foley's Townhouse is perfect for these mid-week escapes or weekend breaks and as a base to tour the Ring of Kerry, Ring of Beara, West Cork and the Dingle Peninsula. Our self-catering Holiday Homes are ideal for families and groups to discover all that Kenmare, Kerry and the South West of Ireland has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Foley's Guesthouse or Holiday Homes, a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.