We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes to your Saves list
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Henry St, Kenmare 02123, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Detmold, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Although reservered via www there was no room available. This was handled very rude by the personnel on duty. Got the worst room in the house with the worst view. The bathroom was not clean, the bathoom door was broken, there was a hole in the wall of the room, it was very loud outside due to noisy hotel personnel. We did not get breakfast the next day since our bus was leavin at 8:40 and breakfast is not available before 8:30, although everything was already prepared.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In answer to your points, unfortunately in the hospitality industry we have to be present on many many sites and on very rare occasions reservations are not always fulfilled. For this we can only apologise. With that in mind, the only room available was a room that was due for some maintenance items to be completed. Over the winter months, all the rooms have been refurbished, including new furnishings and our breakfast times have been brought forward to 8.00am to ensure that all guests can avail of their breakfast.

Should you be back in Kenmare at any time in the future, please join us for a complimentary lunch.

Mairon and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    39
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
40
50
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

While on a weekend break in Kenmare, my partner and I stopped by Foley's for lunch one day having been recommended it by a friend. Staff were rude, they fawned and gave their undivided attention to the tourists as they came in, we were left sitting waiting for our meal for over 40mins while tourists came in after us and were served straight away. After 4 tables came in and were served before us, I eventually had enough and had to go find a member of staff to ask where our food was, but we still waited. The only pro from my whole experience was the food was very nice.

I noticed waiting staff came up and asked every tourist table were they ok, where no one came near us for the duration of our meal. bar staff were not friendly towards me as I had noticed them to be to others. Had we been treated better we would have stayed for another while and had another few pints, but we actually just left and went to another pub up the town.

While I understand that Tourism for Ireland is exceptionally important, I don't feel my money or business is any less important.

It should be noted that since that weekend, I have been down in Kenmare this summer (and no doubt will be again) and wouldn't darken the door of Foley's knowing how we'd be treated. Foley's should realise that the probability is Irish people will return to Kerry (as I did this summer) and they are losing out on repeat business by the way the treat Irish holiday makers!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in Foley's, I can only assure you that this really is not the norm and take on board your points about tourism in Ireland. Whilst you said that you would not like to revisit, you did say that you ejoyed the food and we would relish the opportuity to provide a complimentary lunch should you visit Kenmare again soon. We take on board all comments in our reviews and strive to ensure that they are not repeated.

Many of our returning guests are from Ireland and believe that all of our guests should be treated equally. We hope you take the offer of our gesture.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

John has been the manager since 1972 and he continues to keep Foley's on Henry Street THE place to eat, drink and stay. Our family started coming more than 10 years ago and it continues to have the most comfortable bed in ALL OF IRELAND! Big spacious rooms; can't ever hear the street or pub when you stay above; best fresh food ever; great selection of beers and whiskeys; entertainment and such a welcome spot for locals and tourists alike. If you want to go where all the big, bus tour groups drop off people, then go find it. We love it hear because it is truly authentic Irish and John, Patrick, Marilyn make it a great, great place to call home!

Room Tip: We love the room overlooking Henry Street with the huge King bed--big bathroom, flat screen TV and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Its great to hear that guests get to experience the true Foley's. We continually aim to deliver, as you state, the 'truly authentic Irish experience'.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Pat made sure our stay was comfortable and the food was just fabulous. The entertainment was authentic Irish music and an absolute delight. My favorite town and place to stay of my entire holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Kenmare is truly a wonderful town to experience and at Foley's we ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

Hope to see you back again very soon.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

The pub seemed the only place available with a tv to see the Europe championship match. We decided to go inside for just a beer and we were offered a table near the tv...not much given a choice wether we wanted to eat or not...we had to eat...the me us were put in our hands and we were told that the waiter would come to take the order.

We the decided to have two beers and some chicken wings. The waiter was (a) very unfriendly when we only ordered the wings and nothing else and (b) took ages to get our beers.

Once the food arrived...I must confess I felt like the chicken wings wee still attached to a live chicken...horribly fat and greasy...they didn't incentivize me to eat more.

To the point that after the match we left right away and we didn't even stay to listen to the local musician that came to play.

Strongly suggest to stay away from this place.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your evening in Foley's, this is not how we like our visitors to think of our establishment. Our food is normally good, wholesome, traditional bar food and unfortunately you appeared to have something which does not reflect our usual menu.

Many returning visitors to Kenmare, also dine with us in Foley's. If you do return to Kenmare, we would like to have the opportunity to provide you with a meal that will ensure satisfaction.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the houses in Ard Mullen. The house was really spacious and clean with everything you could need (except a bbq!). The house was child friendly with a gate on the stairs, high chair and travel cot. It was only about a 10 minute stroll into the centre of Kenmare with all the pubs and restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this property and hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Ardmullen Holiday Homes. We also thank you for your suggestion about the BBQ and now have them available on request when you are staying in one of our holiday homes. Thank you for your recommendation.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Where do I start about Foleys ? Good Food,Friendly Efficient service,Good Atmosphere and Excellent Bands.
I have been going to Foleys in Kenmare for many years and never leave disapointed.Pat is always a gentleman and always makes time to speak to his guests.I have seen many examples over the years where Pat has gone beyond the call of duty for his guests.
I remember one night an American lady wanted a certain type of mustard or relish to go with her steak which was not available at Foleys.At this point Pat proceeded to put on his coat and walk to one of the local shops to purchase this item.He then promptly bought it back to her table.Obviously she was delighted!!.
The bar staff at Foleys (Expertly lead by John) are excellent.Even when the bar is packed.The drinks are still forthcoming from the bar.
There is also a good selection of home made food.Which is also delicious.
During the summer months there will also be a band or musician playing on most nights.These are also of a very good standard.There also good at getting the crowd involved with a few of the songs.All in All I would recommend Foleys for a great evening.
I cannot wait to get back again!!.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and always try to accommodate any requests - we now have that type of mustard in our kitchens as a standard! Our musicians always welcome singers and entertainers in the audience to the stage. It always makes for a great evening.

Looking forward to seeing you back again with us soon.

Marion and Patrick Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes

Address: 16 Henry St, Kenmare 02123, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foley's Townhouse is a family run, award-winning guesthouse, restaurant and Traditional Irish Music pub in the centre of Kenmare. Foley's Townhouse is perfect for these mid-week escapes or weekend breaks and as a base to tour the Ring of Kerry, Ring of Beara, West Cork and the Dingle Peninsula. Our self-catering Holiday Homes are ideal for families and groups to discover all that Kenmare, Kerry and the South West of Ireland has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Foley's Guesthouse or Holiday Homes, a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.