We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private walkway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenmare Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenmare Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Kenmare Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Carnmoney Co. Antrim
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Your own private walkway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

just outside Kenmare this is a lovely hotel with an unusual layout. It is set on a rise with all the room on one lone corridor. the gym and swimming pool are to the side and below the main hotel. the gym is well equipped and the pool has a play are for the children and a jacuzzi. Children are not premitted to stay after 7 pm which means it's almost empty. there is a lane area for swimming lenghts. The rooms were spotless with a separate bath and shower. It is impossible not to have a view as the hotel is surrounded by rolling hills. we ate in the bar. The meal was pub fare and very good , also good value. The restaurant did not post a menu so cannot comment. this hotel also has townhouses and apartment within it's grounds. It has a private pathway down into the town cutting of a large bend in the main road. Kenmare is pretty and works hard catering for the tourist. We had a great meal in the Coachman's in Henry street which is full of pubs/restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to read that you had a great stay here with us enjoying all the facilities that we have to offer and the beautiful are of Kenmare. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    226
    104
    40
    19
See reviews for
266
275
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our son's wedding, it was spotless clean ,staff couldn't do enough for us .The food was excellent A big thank you to Tom who looked after everything regarding the wedding .We would definitely recommend this hotel for your very special day it will be one to remember .We are planning our next holiday there already ,once again thank you all at the Kenmare Bay hotel for everything ,
we all had a great time there .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am glad to read that you had such an enjoyable stay here with us for your son's wedding. I will be glad to pass on your compliments to Tom and his team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully situated with plenty to do locally. The rooms are very nice, well decorated, clean and bright with a wonderful spacious bathroom. The food in the hotel was really lovely and the atmosphere created was really nice. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was busy, we were down early as was a tour bus but staff and facilities were well able to cope. I had a treatment in the Spa, a hot stone message. It was relaxing and soothing. The pool and gym facilities are truly lovely. Really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at the hotel with us availing of all our facilities. I will be glad to pass on your compliments to all of my team.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

hotel was clean, bedrooms were cleaned daily , ours had two double beds.
breakfast was buffet. food was excellent and varied.something for almost everone.
breakfast time was hectic. constant que. staff were terrific and friendly, so you had only a short wait no matter how busy they were.
we stayed during the heatwave. one morning ,at about 11.30 am, i felt like a guinness. was told that the bar did not open until 12.00 midday. definitely not impressed for a 4 star hotel.
bar was " interesting". you nearly needed gps to find it. it was located up a stairs and to the right. was signposted thank god. unusual, there were no bar stools at the small bar. designed for you to sit at a small table more suited for eating than a few drinks. as bars go, was not at all impressed but the staff were nice there.
chef was good. location convenient to town centre- only a short walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry that you were disappointed with our bar area. We appreciate your comments and as we have recently refurbished our bar area, we hope that our recent changes have made it a more comfortable experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Literally the best hotel we have stayed in this year. We had a very nice room on the third floor - which was comfortable and beautifully appointed. The breakfast was amazing, and the food at night was sumptuous.

The leisure centre is fantastic for burning off the extra pounds we put on - although her indoors mainly used the sauna and jaquzzi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay here wiht us, enjoying our restaurant food and all of our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here again recently and had a fantastic stay again - The staff are great and the food was fantastic. My daughter had a great time in the kids club and the room was perfect. The location is fantastic as well - close enough to everything

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recent review, I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us here at the hotel and your daughter enjoyed our kids club and facilities. It is always nice to see a familiar face returning to the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a great family holiday at The Kenmare Bay with spectacular weather. There was lots to do in a well organised kids club & a really lovely leisure centre in the beautiful surrounds of Kenmare !! The staff are so helpful & really do alot to make sure you have a great time. Very well catered for family holidays at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a great stay here with us. Enjoying all of our facilities for children from our kids club and swimming pool to our indoor and outdoor play areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on spacious landscaped gardens with panoramic views of the breathtaking surrounding area & short walk from Kenmare town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenmare Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.