We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place to stay food excellent .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a great place to stay food excellent .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here to Attend a wedding which was brilliant hotel is quite spacious . Staff so helpfull . B b q the following night with fantastic food and a solo artist playing who was great really enjoyed the whole experience. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Took a house in on ground of hotel to sleep 6/7, 2 double I single and pull out couch (suitable for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are all pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay for a wedding and you found everything fantastic, it was a great wedding weekend and we were trilled the weather was kind for that special wedding day and the BBQ the following evening
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    237
    108
    40
    19
See reviews for
286
295
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends. Hotel lobby is lovely and the location of the hotel was ony a 12-25 min walk outside of Kenmare but all flat so no problem. Check-in for a large group of girls was a breeze. Room was very nice, flat screen TV, very comfortable bed, only complaint was that the room was too hot. Bathroom as well could do with some renovating it was very small. But otherwise room was great. Bar is very nice too. Breakfast was a but manic and i dont think there is enough staff at breakfast time. The breakfast itself was good all self-service depends if you like that or not. Diner there the night before was fab, steak was lovely and I would definitely stop there again for food. Overall a great experience and I would recommend this hotel very highly. Staff we terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to read you and your friends enjoyed your stay, i have noted your comments and we will be working on these to ensure on your next stay they will be rectified
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The length of time it has taken to write the review is nothing to do with the fab hotel, it's all about us not getting a chance til now! There aren't words to describe a Kenmare Bay Hotel wedding! From the minute we decided to go with Kenmare Bay it was so easy to work with them all. And on the day, from the arrival of Mossie at the house with the car to when we said goodbye to Tom on Monday morning, it was a fantastic experience.

Weve had fabulous feedback; we're so happy we went with the hotel. Small details mean so much and with Kenmare Bay there were lots. If you're thinking about having a wedding in this hotel, think no more - just book it! You so won't regret it. We don't, and we can't wait to go back for our first anniversary dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, all of us at the Kenmare Bay our trilled that you, all your family and friends had a fabulous wedding here with us
We love to look after the detail and make a wedding day perfect in every way, congratulations and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in Kenmare Bay Hotel as a base for hiking..This is a great location. With guidance from the local tourist office we undertook a four hour hike on the kerry way..the most stunning scenery ever... and such a luxury to come back to the hotel's super leisure facilities/pool/jacuzzi. On our second morning after a very lavish and beautifully presented breakfast we drove down the Beara Peninsula to Dursey Island to hike there. Kenmare is a lovely market town, vibrant atmosphere, and a great location for touring. The hotel room was spotless and the staff are very friendly. We'll definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel was very comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review, we our trilled you enjoyed the hiking trails here in Kenmare and you found the hotel spotless, staff friendly and a great breakfast before your hike
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Myself, my fiancé and our daughter stayed in the Kenmare Bay Hotel for 1 night. On arrival we were greeted with a very friendly smile and were made feel very at home. when we got to our room it had everything you need to relax. We were also told that there was a playroom for children which was very family friendly. We had booked an evening meal after our long drive from Dublin and as a lot of families of very young children well know it can be very hard to enjoy a nice meal with the kids, but to our delight there was a kids play corner in the dining room also. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and as proof of this we booked our wedding for July of this year and we are looking forward to seeing all the lovely staff again. STAY IN THIS HOTEL ITS A RELAXING AND TRANQUIL EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!! Keith & Sinead

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we our trilled you enjoyed your recent stay and you and your family found everything to your satisfaction
we pride our selves on our family friendly hotel service and Tom and his team look forward to welcoming you back in July for making your special day the perfect day
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a hen weekend. Nice place, perfect location & food (breakfast & dinner) was lovely.

Major downfall for me was cleanliness. There was blood stains on bed covers & towels were not properly cleaned. We didn't spend much time in the room but this was a huge turn off as you would expect.

Staff didn't know the dinner menu very well as every time we asked a question they had to go off to ask a chef, a question as simple as what the vegetarian option was.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review, our sincere apologies your room was not to the normal high standard we maintain, I have taken this up with our linen supplier and staff to ensure this does not happen again
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in Kenmare and you enjoyed breakfast and dinner In future we will be printing the vegetarian option on our menus
In regarding these issue's I would greatly appreciate you contacting me to discuss and assure you should you be in Kenmare in the future i would ensure you have a perfect stay
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just had a midweek two-night deal with the kids and found the hotel staff so warm and welcoming and our room (superior room) so perfectly comfortable, even paying full price would have been great value. The food in the Courtyard bar falls down a bit but it's still five stars for me because of the excellent pool! The breakfast is not special but completely adequate and the kids loved it anyway. A real bonus is the four-minute pathway to the middle of the town of Kenmare. Great experience altogether.

Room Tip: We'd a suprior room (v comfortable) on the south, so no proper view and slightly dark, but I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I was really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, we have a great team of staff throughout the hotel and it’s a pleasure to ensure that everybody enjoys there stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our Bar food and breakfast buffet, we are currently updating are bar menu and hope to the new menu finalized in the next few weeks, in relation to the breakfast buffet we will defiantly take your comments into consideration.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Andrew Rees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on spacious landscaped gardens with panoramic views of the breathtaking surrounding area & short walk from Kenmare town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.