We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Beautiful rooms, Hearty Breakfast, Friendly family run business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses to your Saves list
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and save 10%
Ranked #19 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
1 review
“Relaxing, Beautiful rooms, Hearty Breakfast, Friendly family run business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

My husband and I made the long trip from Ireland's capital 'Dublin' to one of the most beautiful part of Ireland the 'Ring of Kerry'. While here we stumbled upon the romantic, gastronomic town of Kenmare-what a find. We stayed in a beautiful central Guesthouse called O'Donnabhains. It's a family run business with a hearty Irish breakfast which kept us going until dinner. We were told by the local waiter in the pub below that the chef who owned the place with her husband was trained in France and wow did it show. We had beautiful locally caught garlic mussels-the best I've ever had and my husband had a delicious steak. As its right in the heart of the town it was easy to stroll around to the little gems of shops and pop back for a nap in the afternoon. We booked in for a night and ended up staying 3.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    64
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
45
104
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed in O'Donnabhain's during our golf trip to Kenmare in '08. The location couldn't have been better, the rooms were great, breakfast kept us going for 36 holes and our hostess couldn't have been friendlier!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Kenmere is really lovely and the O'Donnabhain's pub and guesthouse fits right in. The rooms are very well presented and you feel more like you are staying in a hotel than a B&B.

Breakfast is excellent and the lady looking after the guests was lovely too. The food in the pub was very nice and we ended up eating there for both nights of our stay.

The were two negatives to our stay. The first was that we were unfortunate to have experienced 2 days of no hot water in the mornings.
The second was that we really just felt the landlord and bar staff lacked the legendary Irish hospitality. They all seemed quite miserable, maybe it was because they were working over the Easter weekend.

Overall trip was great and we would go again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODonnabhains, Owner at O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses, responded to this review, April 21, 2009
Hi BungleDublin

Appologies about the Hot Water, we have incorporated a Solar Hot water System into our Heating / Hot water system, and we have had a few teething problems, in that in the morning when there is a max demand the Solar inhibits the heating of water rather than helps, we have rectified the problem, and the system is now doing what it is supposed to do.
And about our manner, i can only appologise, but that weekend was farely hetic, and as it is the start of the season we are shortstaffed, and under pressure, I will buy you a drink the next time you are in Kenmare. Jer Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Touring the Irish coastline, we met up with friends who were staying in Kenmare for a fortnight in a rented cottage just out of town. The folks who run those rental cottages also own this guest-house/pub/eaterie in the town so, as we were only staying a couple of nights, they put us on to this place. It was great and, though modern and well-kept, it had the feel of a more traditional pub and there was a good mix of folk coming and going, enjoying the bonhomie and hearty grub. Upstairs, you wouldn’t really be aware of the pub below, as it was nice and quiet, with plenty of space and a comfy bed in the room. Overall, a good place for a short stay if you’re on tour, and a nice shelter if you don’t have luck with the weather.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

A mate of mine who’s been going to Ireland for years put me on to this place when I wanted to do a bit of gentle touring on my bike to explore the west-coast scenery that I’d heard so much about. He was spot on in his recommendation – just the right kind of pubby atmosphere, good nosh after a day on the road, and a comfy, quiet room at the end of it, all at good value booked with no fuss at their own web site. I’ve returned many times, and never stay anywhere else. In turn, it’s only fair that I’ve recommended it to a load of other mates, so I may as well share it here too. Looking forward to my next visit in June 09

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Our fourth visit, Jeremiah, Vanessa and Hugh could not possibly make us more welcome. Large, clean rooms, excellent breakfasts, lunch and dinner menus never failed to delight. (Incidentally, tea/coffee trays are available in the guest lounge, just take one along to your room and it will be replenished daily). O'D's is right in the heart of Kenmare and, after a long evening sampling the town's bars and music, perfect for a nightcap and a gossip with Jeremiah and Hugh! We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

A family run B&B with 10 rooms catering for families and couples. O'Donnabhains is in Henry Street which is in the heart of Kenmare.

I have stayed here four times and have enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and the great, wholesome food served in the restaurant.

Breakfast is terrific and sets you up for the day, the owner is full of local information and is very helpful.

The rooms are a good size and are very clean.

There is a nice beer garden at the rear and there is also off street parking at the rear, this is particularly useful during the summer.

All in all a good value B&B which is very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses

Address: Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Donnabhains Bar, Restaurant and Guesthouse / Bed and Breakfast provides a memorable and quality experience for food, drink and accommodation located in what is the hidden gem of Ireland, Kenmare, Co. Kerry. For our best rates Book Direct on our Official web site and save 10% ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Donnabhain`s Guesthouse b&b & Townhouses Hotel Kenmare
o`Donnabhain`s Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast & Townhouses

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.