We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Rooms Fresh and New” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses to your Saves list
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and save 10%
Ranked #19 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Rooms Fresh and New”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The nicest place we stayed during our trip to Ireland, and also the cheapest. The staff is incredibly friendly. Room was large (coming from an American), newly decorated and very clean. I expected a room at a pub/B&B to be old, dark, etc... but the room was light and airy with lots of light.
Parking in back, but we didn't even need it. Parking also available on the street, free overnight until 9am.
Breakfast service was good. Full Irish, and other choices. Only one person was working the breakfast room, so it took a little longer than expected to have breakfast, but not terribly so. She did a great job running around!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    64
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
45
104
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location, great price, great food and drink and great staff. Perfect place for a June weekend break, will stay again in d future hopefully. Plenty of parking around d back of the bar which was good so could relax knowing car was safe!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Accommodation was booked at the last minute and we were delighted to get a room at short notice on a bank holiday weekend anywhere, however, the beds were uncomfortable, the door to the bathroom did not close properly - a source of embarrassment for me and my travelling companion and we had to leave the room when the other person was using the WC - and the hair dryer was broken, making it pretty much a hand-dryer attached to the wall in such a configuration between washbasin and corner as to make it impossible to use as an actual hair dryer. Our room was right beside the laundry room, and I understand that linens and towels need to be washed and dried, but perhaps not so early on a Sunday morning. The water in the taps was hotter than the water coming from the shower which never seemed to advance beyond tepid. Breakfast was adequate and the wifi was fine, but to be honest I expected more, was disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at O'Donnabhains B&B in Kenmare recently for 6 days and can highly recommend it. Our room was on the 2nd floor towards the back. It was very clean, comfortable, a good size and quiet. Free Wifi was available in the guest lounge which is very comfortable. A full Irish breakfast was on offer every day and Vanessa always served it with a smile and was very friendly. We had dinner there most nights and sometimes lunch and always enjoyed it. Irish music is playing there at night which is popular. Jer and his staff work non stop, but still manage a smile and occasional chat. The location is great in the middle of the main street, very central to everything where we could also catch up with lovely relatives. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. John & Pauline Newcastle/ Lake Macquarie Australia

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nice accommodation, good location, fine breakfast. When I first acknowledged that my reservation was for a B&B upon an animated and somewhat noisy pub on town’s main street, I was a little scared. But in fact, the rooms are quiet, clean and confortable. The "free parking on street" depends obviously of available space, and, depending upon time of the day, may represent some annoyance. Overall, we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had a great stay at O'Donnabhain's guest house in Kenmare. Large, clean, quiet rooms and a large comfy bed. Flat screen TV's and good wifi connection. Breakfast was very nice too. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a great b&b good location and nice big and clean rooms. Very friendly staff and best breakfast so far in Ireland. Although we did have dinner at O'Donnabhains will recommend Foleys pub great Guinness pie and very reasonable prices

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses

Address: Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Donnabhains Bar, Restaurant and Guesthouse / Bed and Breakfast provides a memorable and quality experience for food, drink and accommodation located in what is the hidden gem of Ireland, Kenmare, Co. Kerry. For our best rates Book Direct on our Official web site and save 10% ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Donnabhain`s Guesthouse b&b & Townhouses Hotel Kenmare
o`Donnabhain`s Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast & Townhouses

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.