We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visits a Must for foodies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Cafe and B&B

Rose Garden Cafe and B&B
Sneem Rd, Kenmare, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 46 Restaurants in Kenmare
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kenmare, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Regular visits a Must for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Living locally, I've never stayed at the Rose Garden, but myself, family and friends are regulars at the small restaurant, as you couldn't find a better combination of food quality and value for money in all of South Kerry.

Whether you're after a huge full Irish or a Continental breakfast including the tastiest pastries, freshly made daily by host and pastry chef Jerome, this is the place to go. Whether you'd like brunch or lunch, chosing from the mouth-watering menu or the daily specials board, this is a great place to be. You can call in between 9am and 6pm every day, except Mondays, and no matter what takes your fancy at that time, you're almost guaranteed to find it here. Your host Vladimira will look after you with greatest care, without hovering.

Last week, I had the great pleasure to have been invited to a private function at the Rose Garden. Jerome and Vladimira served up a three course meal that each and every one of us lucky guests were impressed with and delighted by. We gave a spontaneous round of applause when the main courses were served, such was the presentation of the food. I can honestly say that this was one of the best meals I had at a restaurant, ever. An added bonus that night was the relaxed atmosphere and brilliant service.

When next in Kenmare, I urge you to look in at the Rose Garden and give it a try. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B and hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good B&B with exceptional French pastries all day long!! Hosts were very friendly and accommodating always enquiring after our day's outing. Breakfast food was excellent with typical French flair. Room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Hosts surprised us by drying some of our clothes while we were our one day - very thoughtful given the cool weather. Location is great for a quick drive into Kenmare and a short walk for local evening restaurants. Beware - cash only. Had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fine foods, especially French cake selection, good value, baguettes to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Rose Garden will change your view on "rip off Ireland". Lovely food, generous helpings, nice hard-working hosts bringing a French flair to Kenmare. Bravo!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Hills, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best bed and breakfast in the west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Best bed and breakfast we stayed at during our week in Ireland. Staff are extra friendly. Food is excellent as evidenced by locals filling the restaurant at lunch. Good value. We loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You must stay here - if you are a foodie !!! A true find !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This B&B was superb
Fantastic hosts - made us feel very welcome and on arrival said that they served the breakfasts all day - which made the holiday !
As we were enjoying the great night life in Kenmare - we had lazy mornings and good lie ins - when many of our friends where having to get up at 9am for last orders of breakfast in their B&Bs !!!
The Irish breakfast was delicious / the continental / the best I have ever had / amazing home made pain au chocolat and delicious cinnamon twists / Great bread and superb coffee
This could not have been improved on !
The Decor was simple and a little dated but ...
The beds were clean and comfy - great shower pressure - hair driers proved on request / everything catered for / kettle and china mugs in room / ice provided -

Our stay at "The Rose Garden" made our holiday / couldn't have believed that this standard of food and service was possible to find in a B&B / and never had bread and patisserie as good in Ireland - 5 stars !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Garden Cafe and B&B also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Rose Garden Cafe and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Cafe and B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.