We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and B-R-E-A-K-F-A-S-T!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Cafe and B&B

Rose Garden Cafe and B&B
Sneem Rd, Kenmare, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 46 Restaurants in Kenmare
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Livorno, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bed and B-R-E-A-K-F-A-S-T!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very useful private parking. Friendly and familiar atmosphere. Hosts welcoming and extremely kind. Our room was immaculate and very well decorated. A particular mention for breakfast: F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S, especially because of the "french" touch of the pastries!!! Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Tom creams
The rooms are clean and have wverything you need including a safe. Lovely restaurant, very popular, very pleasant friendly staff.
We went straight to the main course and had the lemon sole - absolutely delicious. Followed it with the hot chocolate soufflés - yummy!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Basic B&B, but very good cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The room we had was fairly spacious with a comfortable bed. The highlight of this place in particular is its location; close enough to The Square but overall quiet (no street noise or busy intersections). The location is excellent if you plan to drive/tour the Ring of Kerry. We changed our mind at the last minute to do the Ring of Beara on our own (excellent scenery with little traffic) so I can't comment or recommend any good bus/group tours that may pick you up at the B&B itself. The breakfast was always excellent, and their home-baked breads are excellent. It was the perfect place to buy some bread there, pick up some snacks, cheeses, etc. at the local Topaz (filling station & small grocery) around the corner before going on trips to see the local site.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempaala, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Go here for tasty pasteries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you appreciate luscious pastries with a good cup of cafe STOP HERE! We stayed here over night and were also able to enjoy their outstanding breakfast with genuine Frensh baguette, yammy!! The Irish version of the breakfast was the best we have had in our one week tour around Ireland. The continental breakfast was also very tasty especially with the home baked croissant and rolls. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and the prices are reasonable. Those are the main reasons why we wanted to rate this "excellent" place.
The room size is ok, they are all different, cute and romanticly decorated. The location suited as because we didn´t mind little 10 minutes walk to the town centre (note: there is a nice short cut).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited the Rose Garden Cafe to-day and yesterday. We enjoyed our meals very much. The prices are very reasonable. If you like home baking its a great place to visit, they make their own baguettes and cakes etc. I would recommend this cafe. Its also very near to the Kenmare Bay Hotel or the Brooklane Hotel, a very short stroll. We will be going back there again on our next visit. I tried their lemon tart and a chestnut tartlet, both very good. They also do a tasty croque monsieur.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Garden Cafe and B&B also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Rose Garden Cafe and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Cafe and B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.