We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheen Falls Lodge to your Saves list
Sheen Falls Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

One of my favourite hotels. Always a pleasure. Food and service are outstanding and always a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    94
    40
    28
    6
See reviews for
97
265
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just had a 2 night stay in Sheen Falls. It was really lovely, and made the long drive from the east coast all the more worthwhile. Our rooms was fantastic, we had the Sheen Suite which was big, bright and had an open fire which was set and ready to light - on an cold evening it would be just perfect. We were lucky to have all meals at the hotel, breakfast was a treat, I would highly recommend the omelette. The lunch menu is extensive, the caesar salad is perfectly dressed, not smoothered! Dinner is visually really impressive, it's a work of art. The hotel staff are extremely attentive, they are so on top to things it's brilliant. The hotel itself is really, really comfortable and just a fantastic place to unwind. The only thing I didn't think about the hotel was the colour of it - I would paint it a nice colour rather than the yellow.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to a suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just spend a very enjoyable weekend in the Sheens Falls Lodge. Overall I was impressed but having read some of the reviews, my expectations were very high so it was always likely I would be a little disappointed. The reception area with the fire was very welcoming as it was very cold outside and we were checked in with the minimum of fuss. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and I can have absolutely no complaints about the food, even when the waitress made an error with the fish dish on the night, they still made the dish I chose even though it was not actually on the menu. The breakfast was top class and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The bedrooms were huge and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was also very big and spotlessly clean - one of the first things I always check when I arrive at a hotel.

The setting of the lodge would be hard to beat, it is simple fantastic. The close proximity to the town of Kenmare is an added bonus as it is such a fab town and should not be missed on a visit to this part of the country.

Some of the reviews suggest the hotel needs some maintenance, I would agree to a point. While there is no major issue now, I can see it becoming a little rundown if some maintenance is not done in the short term. I am sure the hotel management will be on top of this before it becomes a problem.

Overall, I would recommend a stay in the lodge if you have extra cash or are celebrating an occasion as it is a little expensive but worth it if you are marking a special occasion.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the wonderful Sheen falls lodge.the rooms are Enormous !
Big roaring fires in all of the common rooms .just so very comfortable and relaxing .
Staff excellent.we were keen to have a fly fishing lesson from the resident Ghillie and the young lady in the spa arranged it for us immediately .
Afternoon tea delicious restaurant food exquisite .
Only complaint is that we are not staying longer!

Room Tip: 202 has a balcony over looking the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciarrigal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Sheen Falls is located in the most breathtaking location on Kenmare bay. The front of the hotel (where the entrance is) overlooks Kenmare bay and the back overlooks the sheen river with its stunning bridge and natural falls. For the views alone, Sheen Falls is a must see. The service and attention to detail transcends you into a world of luxury where you wish you never had to leave.

We had a deal for one night which included 2 glasses of champagne and a voucher for La Cascade restaurant. We arrived early as we stayed in the town on the previous night. Our plan was to check out the town and also the walks around the hotel as well as the facilities. My husband planned to do some fishing and I had booked treatments in the spa prior to arriving.

When we arrived we decided to check if our room was ready even though we were not expecting it to be as we were so early. However, we were delighted to learn that our room was ready. We were shown to our room and we were completely gob-smacked with the view. It was literally breathtaking - over looking the river. The room was very spacious with a huge bed. The bathroom had twin sinks, a shower and a bath. The decor was not modern but not dated, it was more sophisticated chic. The bed linen even had the Sheen Falls logo on them. Decor throughout the hotel is plush with thick pile carpet and luxurious seats. There was a huge fireplace in the lobby with a blazing fire and welcoming couches. The bar is small and overlooks the river. The sun lounge also overlooks the river and is bright with comfortable seats to enjoy the views, have a bite to eat or a drink. The library has a spectacular book collection and also a peaceful atmosphere to read in. The restaurant is spacious and on two levels with a view of the bay and/or river from every angle.

We relaxed for a while enjoying the view from our room and then my husband took to the falls for some fishing even though he was not expecting to catch anything as it was a bit early in the season. The hotel provide all the equipment necessary. He came back totally chilled and couldn't stop ranting about the river and the views.

I enjoyed a facial and body massage in the Health Club where Angela was my therapist. The treatments were excellent and left me totally relaxed and wishing the treatments could go on forever. Always a good sign.

That evening we went for a walk to explore the grounds and later enjoyed dinner in La Cascade. the food was delicious though very expensive, especially for the portion sizes.
Service was excellent.

Breakfast was superb with a choice of continental, full Irish as well as an option of fried plaice or minute steak.

The staff could not have been more friendly and efficient. From the welcome we received at check in, to the bar and restaurant staff, health club staff, porters, every member went out of their way to help guest and make their stay more enjoyable. This is by far the most important factor for Sheen Falls and differentiates it from its competitors.

Overall, Sheen Falls is soo worth the experience and if I had to find a fault it would be that the health club is a little small and dated. Its definitely on our return to list!

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has a view of Kenmare bay and the back overlooks the sheen river. Request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights in mid April. Having read a number of other reviews we were a little apprehensive about the reported "tired" or "slightly run down" nature of this hotel.

Quite to the contrary we found the hotel to be very well appointed and deemed elements of their decor described as "tired" or "slightly run down" to be shabby chic i.e. chosen for their appearance of age but all of exceptional quality and very desirable. Whilst the hotel was only built in the last twenty odd years it has a lovely mature feel. The lounge and bar areas were really relaxing and a great spot for a drink in the afternoon or evening.

The standard bedroom was large, well appointed and very comfortable with a little balcony looking on to the water falls. The bathroom was very nicely decorated and included a bath, separate shower and twin basins. The bed was huge and I normally like a firm matress but the bed was a little too firm for my liking. The room was beautifully quiet and was of perfect temperature (normally I find hotels too hot).

The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. We had dinner in the hotel one of our two evenings and really enjoyed all courses of our meal (the fillet of beef was exceptional). In hindsight we wished we ate both nights in the hotel. Their was plenty of choice for breakfast. I also had a massage in the spa. The spa itself was not very modern or spacious but the treatment was very enjoyable.

There is so much to do in the hotel and surrounding areas. The hotel has a tennis court, table tennis, a small pool and bikes that you can borrow. Kenmare is a short cycle away (about 10 mins). The town itself is really nice with one or two nice restaurants. I would definitely recommend Sheen Falls Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterfall with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Sheen Falls in April and had a very enjoyable week-end. From the moment we arrived until we departed, every staff member we encountered was most welcoming, most courteous and very helpful.
Our room was very spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. The view through the trees of the estuary was ever changing and delightful.
The public areas, bar, library, etc were comfortable and pleasant and with the inclusion of the pianist in the evenings it was all very enjoyable.
Food at Sheen Falls was not their strong point. We dined in the restaurant on one evening. The restaurant is a beautiful room, but while the food was good it was by no means exceptional and was very expensive. Dinner for two with no wine (we did have a bottle of sparkling water) and with tea/coffee saw us with a bill in excess of 150 Euro. Breakfast was good but fell somewhat short of 5* standard. The "freshly cooked to order" items were simply not. They tasted just like the "cooked earlier and kept warm" variety common to so many hotel breakfast.
But overall our stay was enjoyable and we will return at a future date.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheen Falls Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.