We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a wonderful find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strawberryfield, Pancake Cottage

The Strawberryfield, Pancake Cottage
Moll's Gap-Sneem road (R568) | Blackwater, Kenmare, Ireland (Formerly The Strawberryfield Field, Pancake Cottage)
(00353) 64 6682977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Kenmare
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Our Pancake Cottage is beautifully located up in the mountains on the Moll's Gap to Sneem road, between the Ballaghbeama Gap and the Gap of Dunloe. When travelling from Killarney town, take the road through the Killarney National park and at Moll's Gap you take the road to Sneem (R568). We have a good selection of sweet and savory pancakes, homemade soup, apple-pie and scones. A little playground and a lovely gift/craft-shop.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

So love this little yellow cottage tucked along the road to Kenmare on the Ring of Kerry. Sweet or savoury pancakes or maybe both - your choice! Great wee shop full of interesting little gifts and trinkets. There's also a lovely little garden for kids to play in too. Another haunt for our family every time we go to Killarney.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    14
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Delicious pancakes. Restaurant and facilities So clean. Lovely quirky decor full of owners personality. My family go back year after year. We visited last week - just as good as ever!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We came across this pancake shop last year and the whole family loved it, so when we were back in Killarney last month another visit to the pancake shop was a must. It's about half an hour outside Killarney on the Sneem road but worth the drive. Both the savoury and the sweet pancakes are wonderful and the setting is beautiful. We sat in the garden on a gorgeous day and enjoyed a really relaxing lunch. Will definitely return the next time we are in Kerry.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a little gem, tucked away but worth the drive. It is small but cosy with a super log stove lighting on those cold days. Their pancakes are devine - with every topping/combination imaginable, both sweet and savoury. A real favourite of ours.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“IN LOVE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only visited once but that's all it took to fall in love. Incredible location, just past Avoca shop/Moll's Gap - spectacular views. Outdoor seating lovely on a sunny day. Inside is cozy, colorful and worth a look even if you're eating outdoors. Pancakes with every imaginable topping - delicious! Must go again soon!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strawberryfield, Pancake Cottage also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Strawberryfield, Pancake Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strawberryfield, Pancake Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.