We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avelow House

Avelow House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avelow House to your Saves list
Avelow House
Independence Road (on the N71), Kenmare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Host and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A warm handshake from Pat awaits you at Avelow House as soon as you walk into the front door. He was a great host, introducing us to other travelers from the USA and always calling us by name. The room included a TV and everything we needed. You can walk into the city centre from the house, but we chose to drive and park due to the weather. Overall, a great B&B. Thanks, Pat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We absolutely loved our recent stay at Avelow House in Kenmare. Our charming host, Pat Downing, greeted us upon our arrival and did everything possible to make our stay perfect. The rooms were lovely, spotless & inviting. Even the beds were comfortable, which we found to be a rarity in Ireland B&B's. Breakfast was delicious, prepared to order with offerings such as full Irish breakfast, eggs, toast, smoked salmon, cereals, breads & fruit. Pat's delightful granddaughters helped him serve breakfast. The location could not be better. It is a short walk (15 minutes) into the town center, and is convenient to the Ring of Kerry and many other attractions. We highly recommend Avelow House B&B and will definitely stay there again should we find ourselves in Kenmare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a great time at this B&B and would have happily stayed here longer.

Pat is warm and welcoming -- a pleasure to speak with. We also enjoyed getting to meet his granddaughter in the morning as she helped with breakfast. We felt right at home.

Breakfast was good -- lots of options to choose from, which is always appreciated after a few full Irish breakfasts in a row!

The B&B is in a good location -- just a few minutes walk into town.

We'd happily stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pat is a warm gentleman who likes people and gives them a warm welcome at the door. His B&B is very well kept: the rooms are clean and comfortable, sleeping in them is very restful. We appreciated his generosity at breakfast, complete with soft music and light and attentive conversation. Needless to say we left smiling but a little sad from having to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I just finished my (unfortunately) short stay with Pat at Avelow House B & B. It was a WONDERFUL place to stay and I'm not sure how this place isn't number one in Kenmare. When we first arrived, he was expecting us and even greeting us my our names. He showed us to our room (room #3), which was at the front of the property (great views of the surrounding area). After that, he made fresh tea & biscuits for us; this was followed by a map of the area and hints on things to do in the area (and told us to go have a few pints). When we came back afterward (approximately 11 pm, possibly 11:30 pm) he was up and asked us what we would like for breakfast (we both ordered traditional Irish breakfast).

We were supposed to go to Skelling the next morning, but the weather didn't cooperate--Pat was more upset than I was (he let us use his house phone to call to see if the trip was on or not). Breakfast was made fresh by Pat and he kept asking if we wanted more.

The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds. The towels are SO soft & fluffy and there are small heaters in the en suite to keep it warm. There are tea/coffee makers & hair dryers in each room with extra pillows and blankets.

Pat is a genuinely good person and he really runs a great B & B. I HIGHLY recommend Avelow House--I can't recommend it enough! When I come home from my trip to Ireland, I'll post my photos.

Please don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Room three was great--excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlaoise
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pat the owner could not have been nicer Beautiful cooked breakfast every morning enjoyed our stay lovely relaxed style and really enjoyed chatting to the other guest over breakfast about their adventures .Thank you Pat for been a lovely host & for the delicious smoked salmon with scramble eggs to get one set up for the day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Everything about this unpretentious B & B was first class. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was wonderful, but best of all was our lovely host who could not have been more pleasant. He gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner, helped us with our luggage and generally made us feel welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avelow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avelow House

Address: Independence Road (on the N71), Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avelow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avelow House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.