We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Crean Fish & Wine Restaurant

Tom Crean Fish & Wine Restaurant
Main Street, Kenmare, Ireland
00353646641589
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 restaurants in Kenmare
Price range: $34 - $61
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
kildare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Myself and my wife recently held our wedding reception at this wonderful restaurant.Aileen the owner couldn't have done enough for us and her staff we're excellent.To say the food was good wouldn't do it jusice.
It's an amazingly high standard and some of the best food i ever tasted.Along with 50 of our guests we partied the night away.I would recomend the turbot but frankly you could order off the menu blindfold and it would still be great.If your looking for great food and great service get yourself down to Kenmare!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    186
    51
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great night in this restaurant. The food was great including a Black pudding in filo pastry starter that I would definitely travel back to Kenmare to taste again. Everyone was really friendly, and even though they were very busy the staff managed to create a great atmosphere with their friendly attitude. Really had a blast. I'd also recommend the turbot for a main course.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just attended a family wedding at Tom Crean Resturaunt & also stayed in the rooms above the restaurant - will definitley be back ! The food was just divine, chicken liver pate to die for & the fresh turbot mouth watering Aileen, her son Marcus & all the staff were so friendly & helpful - it really felt like home from home. Would highly recommend Tom Crean Restaurant :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant meal in this restaurant. There is a great selection on the menu & something to please all palates with a variety of fish & meat options. For once as a vegetarian I had choices & not just 1 option. We were given a basket of fresh bread with butter & it was also served with a beautiful hummus on the side. Our meal was lovely, tasty & fresh, service was attentive & friendly.There was a nice atmosphere & a lovely open fire. The owner & chef Aileen came around to the tables at the end of the evening & it was so interesting to talk to aileen about her grandfather Tom Crean. Overall a really lovely evening & we will be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyboghil, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very good restaurant in beautiful Kenmare town centre. Outstanding service, beautiful food, good price in a beautiful authetic setting.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Crean Fish & Wine Restaurant also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Tom Crean Fish & Wine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Crean Fish & Wine Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.