We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and music at the Coachman's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant

The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant
8 Henry St. | Kenmare, Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
+353 64 664 1311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 46 Restaurants in Kenmare
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in Kenmare Town Centre, The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant is run by the Jones family since 1969. Delicious Irish favourites including Beef ' Guinness Casserole, Seafood Pie, Fish 'n Chips, fresh local seafood. During dinner,some of the finest entertainment that Ireland has to offer is performed. There is a wonderful atmosphere and fond memories are made.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and music at the Coachman's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent three days in the Kenmare area, and ate dinner twice at the Coachman's. The atmosphere was friendly and warm, and the food was fresh and very flavorful. Both evenings, we were entertained by the extraordinary duo of accordionist/vocalist Michael O'Brien and guitarist Sean O'Connor. These guys are fantastic! I highly recommend the food at the Coachman's, especially the lamb and the seafood.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    92
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midleton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Culinary in Kenmare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had food in the Coachman's on Saturday 22nd June. The food itself was beautiful. The staff were a little bland and indifferent in their explanations around the menu. Not exactly welcoming, but nevertheless, prompt and professional.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was surprisingly quiet but we enjoyed the food and staff were very friendly. It was a welcome change from a place we walked out of previously!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Coachman's Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Upon arrival, it was rather crowded. Just being 2 of us, we were told that we could not sit in the dining area, close to the music, we needed to sit in the bar area. It looked like all of the tables in the dining area were to seat 4. That was fine with us, we just wanted to eat, and listen to some live music at the same time. Our food was good, but not spectacular. I would describe it as your basic Irish pub food. As we were eating, the 2 man band got up and left. Apparently, they only play until 8:30-9pm. This was disappointing, as most other pubs have music all evening, until close. If we return to Kenmare, we will most likely try another place to dine and enjoy music.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clonakilty
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Brilliant music and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a taxi driver and it was a most enjoyable night. We arrived at 6.30 p.m. and while none of us were big fans of Irish traditional music we were spellbound listening to brilliant accordian musician and singer Michael O'Brien. Pure showman. We left the restaurant 5 hours later as we absolutely had to stay for his 2nd session at 9.00 p.m.
The restaurant was very busy all night but the service was excellent. Food was good and great value, particularly as there was no cover charge for music. Bar staff were very professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coachman's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.