We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for those interested in Irish history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm

Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm
Glengarriff Rd. | Releigh, Bonane, Kenmare, Ireland
00353 64 6640714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
kenmare
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good place for those interested in Irish history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stopped by Molly Gallivan's today on our way to the Caha Pass. It's a nicely restored farm that has a shop and restaurant. We didn't eat there, but spent some time in the shop (which has very nice quality items for reasonable prices, along with the requisite Guiness tourist t-shirts) and looking at the buildings and farm. There is an excellent farm walk, complete with very friendly farm animals (the chickens were pretty demanding, and got disgusted when after racing up to us, discovered we had no food for them), bee hives, proper Irish gardens and potato and oat fields, orchard, barns, and more. It gives a very good picture of what life was like in old Ireland. There are several different walks that start there. There's a short one on a well gravelled path that most people and prams could get around on, and some longer walks that take you over styles and through fields and past some interesting archeological sites. It was free, and would be well worth a trip for families with children, and groups wanting to stop for a bite to eat and something historical and interesting to look at. Oh, and the stuff in the shop really is nice, I'm going back to buy myself some lovely hats and sweaters, and a few pieces of jewelry!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    59
    8
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottbus, Brandenburg, Germany
1 review
“a lovely place to experience Irish history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Molly Gallivan's a small cottage in the vally of Bonane. We could have spent the whole day walking around the site watiching the animals and learning about the history of farming and the life in this part of Ireland.
Unfortunately we just had one evening to comb through the gift shop and to take part in the weekly evening program. It stared with a demonstation of the traditional way of destilling the Poitin and a tasting afterwards. Shortly after we assembled in a very cosily room to have dinner (about 25 individuals in total). We had a soup as starter, typical Irish Stew as main course and a very tasty dessert (Apple Crumble). Finishing the dinner we went into another room of the cottage, where the "homecomming" was celebrated.
This wonderful evening with very nice people/staff and live music in this pleasant atmosphere was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. I will always remebre the kindness and hospitality that we were treated with.
Molly Gallivan's is highly recommendable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Aussie adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excellent sidetrack to a great stay in co.Kerry friendly staff and lovely animals don't let the pig out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stopped here with a small tour (24 people) and had a great time.Stephen, our guide, was interesting and a whole lot of fun besides, and the place was just lovely. The poitin demo was one of my favorite things, as was the story about the standing (well, kind of lying) stone the owner found after he bought the place. The gift shop was lovely. (Those who say it was pricey apparently didn't come directly from the tourist trap in Skibbereen, like we did!) Some kitschy stuff, but the local crafts were very nice and worth the price.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Legends in the Land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

A most unexpected delight at Molly Gallivan's. It was a blustery day but the heartfelt dedicated staff warmed our hearts with story, brew, and the best educational walking tour of our entire trip. Like visiting a small farm in the U.S., we walked through and talked about this old farm and the whys and wherefores it was laid out as it was. They also had an excellent stock of Irish goods. I bought a beautiful dark brown mid-weight coat with a hood (to replace my old green one) and a pair of wool socks. I wore them both all last week visiting in Portland, OR. The images and experiences at Molly's will be with me a long time. "It's not so much to do with what they say, but how they make you feel."

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.