We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor experience...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Horseshoe

The Horseshoe
3 Main Street, Kenmare, Ireland
353 (0)64 41553
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Kenmare
Cuisines: European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very poor experience...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Unbelievably poor service from the restaurateur… I booked a table at the restaurant on the 11th December 2013 for 7.30pm on Wednesday 15th January to celebrate my wifes birthday (a fact communicated to Mr Bevan in my email). Paul Bevan confirmed the reservation on the 12th December. I again exchanged email communications with Paul Bevan prior to travelling to Kenmare on Monday 13th Jan' 2014' - no issues raised….

Just as we were about to leave our room to go into town on the evening of the 15th Jan', I checked my phone (@6.02pm) and Paul Bevan had emailed! "I'm very sorry for the change last minute but the horseshoe will not be open tonight or tomorrow night"…… A decision taken and communicated an hour prior to the reservation time!!! How very very poor!!! Just as well we had access to email via my phone, otherwise we would have been left standing outside the restaurant wondering what an earth was going on

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    50
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hermantown, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go for the Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you like good food, you will get plenty of it at the Horseshoe. The menu offers both meat and seafood, with bar-b-que ribs being the house speciality. Lamb and fresh-caught fish are also prepared to perfection and served in ample portions. The wait staff is friendly and helpful while the decor is a warm and rustic horse-and-hound-meet-stable. Hours of operation can be iffy, so calling ahead may be a good idea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good crack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Staff are friendly and a lot of customers were regulars so there was a good banter. Starter was only ok (Prawns) but the main course was good. We had a 21:00 reservation so a few of the specials were gone at that stage which was disappointing. Its worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went into this pub for one drink,ended up staying for about 8 !! And also ate probably the best rack of ribs I've ever had. It's a really great place with very friendly bar staff who went to great lengths making us delicious cocktails... A must when I kenmare !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Closed on consecutive days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We read about it in lonely planet guide & called en route to Killarney but was closed on Bank holiday Monday. Tried again Tues 29th after doing the ring of Kerry but was unfortunately closed again. Is the opening seasonal?

Thankfully we had a late lunch in the form of Chowder in O Donnabhains which was pleasing

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoe also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Horseshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horseshoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.