We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun activity in beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Outdoors Adventure Centre

Star Outdoors Adventure Centre
Dauros, Kenmare, Ireland
064 6641222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Activities in Kenmare
Type: Ghost Towns, Sports Camps/ Clinics, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Water Activities;Kayaking, Canoeing, Sailing, Pedal Boats, Water Trampoline & Slide, Waterskiing, Wakeboarding & Banana boat rides on the Kenmare Bay. Land Activities;Archery, Team Challenges, Orienteering, Mountain Walk Star Outdoors offers activities to families and groups alike including summer day camps!Hourly guided Wildlife Cruises aboard “The Star of Kenmare” depart from the Star Marina pier only minutes from Kenmare town centre to explore the Kenmare Bay and its wildlife including the Kenmare Bay’s very own large seal colony.Also on-site is Con’s Seafood Bar & Restaurant – serving fresh seafood sourced from Castletownbere supplied by Star Seafoods, Kenmare. Our balcony provides stunning views over the Kenmare Bay and the McGillicuddy Reeks in the background.Located on the R571 on the Ring of Beara road towards Castletownbere.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun activity in beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent an afternoon kayaking on the beautiful Kenmare bay at the Star centre. The charming staff fitted us out with wet suits and buoyancy aids and gave clear instructions and then off we went out onto the bay and then onto the trampoline to relax. Excellent facilities including a terrace overlooking the bay where we ate local salmon accompanied by Guinness. Very enjoyable afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarOutdoors, Manager at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we try to ensure every visit is enjoyable with us. Appreciate also your great comments on our restaurant "Con's" on first floor of the centre. We are very lucky to have an abundance of fresh ingredients available on our doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We phoned in advance and that was the real seller - expert staff member. We arrived to beautiful surroundings, helpful staff, great facilities all gear provided. Our children are 11 and 12. We got a kayak for 4 and ventured out on the water. It was fantastic. We made our way out to the trampoline and slide and had great fun. We ate at Kens and again this was great. We headed in a 4 paddle boat, kids loved it because Dad and I were doing most of the peddling! back out to the trampoline. Played crazy golf which was also good. The prices are very very good and much better than other places we checked out. highly highly recommended - the hot showers after being on the water although a simple pleasure were bliss! Thank you

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarOutdoors, General Manager at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments on our staff, centre, activities and restaurant. Our mission is to provide a wide range of activities in a safe environment at an affordable rate for all. Your comments assure us we are going in the right direction. I hope you enjoy the rest of your visit in this area as there is so much to do. You are welcome back here any time and we assure you of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hen Party Kayaking Activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were in Kenmare for my friends Hen Party and we decided to go Kayaking at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre. The staff there are go friendly and easy going. We got kitted out in our wetsuits and entered the water. It was April so the water was pretty cold!! The kayaking was fun, we headed straight out for the slide and a few of us braved the elements and went for the plunge!!! We were disappointed that the Trampoline wasn't out, we would have had so much fun on that and it might have warmed us up! All in all it was an enjoyable experience and I would most certainly go back again, when its a little warmer!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarOutdoors, Manager at Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to us at Star Outdoors Kenmare. Unfortunately this year has been particularly bad weather wise and especially windy which is why trampoline was not in place. Good news is from May 1st trampoline will be back in place and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Kenmare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
1 review
“Really great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

the weather was really bad and we were stuck in doors with the kids. the hotel we were stayng in susgested we head to Star Otdoors adventure centre and i have to admit it made the trip especially for the kids. we tried the family package and did archery, kayaking and went on the cruise boat to the see seals. it was a great day and if we had found it earlier in the trip we would have gone more often as you can go do single activities by the hour as well. all in all great little place with fantastic staff who explain every activity so you can decide what you want. I would definatly go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our TY outdoor pursuits were well spent here.
Although the hikes were not to everyone's satisfaction, the water-based activities are second to none.
Kayaking, pedal boats, the water slide & trampoline and the banana boat but to name a few.
Dave, Joey & Ger were all on hand to make sure the week was run well & that everyone was having a good time.
My fourth time going but still as fun as ever.
Would recommend to anyone holidaying in kenmare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Outdoors Adventure Centre also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Star Outdoors Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Outdoors Adventure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.