We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but overpriced and cramped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Packie's

Packie's
Henry Street, Kenmare Co. Kerry, Ireland
+353 64 66 41508
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 restaurants in Kenmare
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dublin, Ireland.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced and cramped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I ate here with some friends recently and we all found the food to be excellent.
The place has charm and the staff were very good.
However, I felt it was a little overpriced and the tables are very close to each other. There was a problem with our reservation which led to a 40 minute delay, followed by ordering our food at a tiny table while waiting for our table to finally become available.
Without these minor hitches I would have given a 4 rating.
Tables vary considerably, so ask for one that will suit your group.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    194
    27
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Even better than before...excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Packie's would put top class London restaurants to shame. Amazing food, great atmosphere and great staff. We are here last year and went back this weekend and it was just as good as last year if not better. Couldn't fault it. A big group of us of all ages and everyone was delighted with their meal. Look forward to next year already.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, Comfortable Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Packie's on our first night in Kenmare. Everything was as you would want it to be----lovely and comfortable room, excellent waitstaff and most important, fabulous food. We would definitely return and recommend highly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would fly from Australia just to eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We ate twice at this wonderful restaurant during our 7 night stay in Kenmare, and that is simply unheard of for us.
There are a great number of worthy eating spots in and around Kenmare, but Packies is quite simply the best.
Fresh, wonderful food...and the friendliest wait staff we have ever had the pleasure to meet.
The Owner and Chef, Martin absolutely knows what he's doing...we'd travel back from Australia simply to eat here.
Thank you for the experience...it was a privilege!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two weeks ago tonight........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

..................and I'm still thinking about it.

Great Food.
Great Waitstaff.
Great Atmosphere.
Great Company.

This is a jewel in the town of Kenmare which came highly recommended from a local who loves the quality and simplicity Packie's has to offer. Very informal. Crispy goat cheese salad and the Kerry lamb are enough proof that these folks know what they're doing. My only regret? We didn't try any of the seafood items for which they are known.....good excuse to return. For a lazy Tuesday evening in October, the place was full. Our next trip to Ireland will include another visit to Packie's.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Packie's also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Packie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Packie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.