We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Slow Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lime Tree

The Lime Tree
Shelburne Street, Kenmare KY, Ireland
646641225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Kenmare
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Food Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a table in the upstairs section. Our order was taken promptly, Bread delivered and starters arrived. Starters were excelent. Pidgeon salad and a delicious Prawn Coctail once these were eaten then the wait! There was well over 40 minutes wait for our mains, Others who had arrived after us were finishing their mains when I called a waitress. I do believe we were forgotten as the waitress was very apologetic. No complaints on the food, very nice indeed and the atmosphere is nice (Downstairs has more athmosphere for sure) Just recon we were unlucky.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    45
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New management, same high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just a note for previous visitors that this restaurant is under new management since the end of 2012. However, the new owner isn't that new at all, as he had previously run the establishment in the late 1990s. (I learned this when he briefly did a tour of the tables at the end of the service to make sure everyone was getting on well.)

So, what's changed? The menu is different, the prices have dropped slightly, which is no bad thing (and the menu is now on a single price for any three courses, rather than a-la-carte pricing), but the food is still of the same high quality as before.

Ambience is still very good, especially in the downstairs section. I've eaten upstairs on occasion too, and while it's also nice, the upstairs seems to be kept aside for (well-behaved!) party groups.

Service was also very good, although we did get "double-teamed" for a while when two separate waitresses both ended up attending to our table. Better than no service at all, but it was a bit funny while it lasted.

All in all, it looks like one of my favourite restaurants is still in good hands.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Steak Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were seated after booking in advance in the upstairs section...this could have been made clearer when we booked by phone as upstairs was much quiter and our party of 4 had just 2 other couples sharing the quiter space...ground floor had better atmosphere and was FULL ...Service was good with a very attentive waitress who was very pleasant to us all...However the Steak and Kenmare Bay Salmon had was amazing and well worth it...thank you TLT

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“love the ambiance and atmosphere..and the food of course!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We chose the Lime Tree for a quite birthday treat for my partner. Have been before and the food was just as good second time around. We arrived early and were the first in the restaurant. Staff are very pleasant and attentive. The service was a bit slow but the waitress apologised explaining that there was a big group in upstairs. As it was Halloween there were trick or treat callers who were welcomed by the staff. The room temperature was a bit on the cool side when we arrived but when the door remained open for the trick or treat callers the temperature went right down. However, this was the only negative. We love this restaurant and will be back again and again!"!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kerry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Back again for more good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Brought my family back to the Lime Tree at the weekend for a birthday celebration, and we were given the usual great welcome from Mike and his team.
The food was again phenomenal and the service top class

Thanks for a great night

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Tree also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lime Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.