We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carrig Country House & Restaurant to your Saves list
Carrig Country House & Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Caragh Lake B&B and Inns
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We didn't stay here as we were only on a day trip but had evening dinner there as recommended by locals. We were blown away on every level - setting beside a tranquil lake and amazing locally-sourced food. Frank, the proprietor is a top bloke - he made everyone feel welcome. Nearest town is Killorglin.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    12
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We did not actually stay at this hotel but we did visit for dinner on two evenings. It was a lovely experience - Frank, the owner greeted us and immediately made us welcome. We were shown to a delightful lounge and the menu was explained to us in detail. A very extensive and excellent value (for Ireland) fixed price menu was available and the meal in served in a lovely dining room overlooking the lake. The food and the house wines were delicious and the service was very attentive.
The hotel and restaurant are family run and you can see the care and love which they dedicate to running them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed here recently and had the most wonderful time. We availed of the Adventure & Pampering package they had and it just ticked all the boxes. The location is amazing, service outstanding - they couldn't do enough for us. We had adventure filled days which prepared us nicely for the fabulous food that was on offer every evening. If you want to stay in place that makes you think about the next time you are going to come back as soon as you leave, then this is it!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin , Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

spent 2 nights there recenty with my wife . what a location overlooking the lake . superb food and very very friendly staff . only 10 minutes from the magnificent dooks golf course . would highly recommend carrig house for a short break .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

My husband and I took a break away for one night. Our welcome was very warm, the service throughout was so friendly and caring. The food at dinner and breakfast was sublime. the House is full of charm and a busy buzz.. You have to reserve a room overlooking the lake as that is the real secret - Lake Caragh which is not seen from the road.
A real gem, to be re-visited. Frank and Mary the hosts really care about their guests, always there for advice on next leg of your trip etc.,
Well Done.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Outside of Dublin, this was the most expensive place we stayed in during our trip, yet also the most disappointing. The hallways and rooms have a fairly shabby look, and we found our room upon arrival filled with flies. The restaurant offers live piano music and serves excellent (a bit overpriced) food – which seems to attract local patrons from Killarney, resulting in a densely packed dining room and some wait time even for hotel guests. The service was cordial, albeit slightly snobbish.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We loved this place. I would be forever content to fall to sleep at night to the lapping of the lake and wake every morning to its beauty.
We met Franck (the owner) who was charming, witty and more than helpful. We never met his lady wife and the restaurant was closed as we were very few guests at the end of the season, but I accept this as fully understandable and we never went short of anything. We were pointed in the direction of some very acceptable eating places and finally ate in a Church! A first time experience that we worshipped.
I work in interior design. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished.
The staff were very welcoming too, from the friendly homely lady who served us the best ever breakfast, through to the housekeeper and the cheerful receptionist.
We will return to this paradise one day, but it won't be soon enough.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Address: Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caragh Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caragh Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrig Country House & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig Country House & Restaurant is a 4 Star Country House Hotel & Restaurant. We are situated on the shores of Caragh Lake, 1 mile off the famous Ring of Kerry route. This Victorian Manor sits on acres of mature gardens and boasts over 978 different species of plants, and has its own private jetty on the lake. The Lakeside Restaurant which is renowned for it's wonderful food and ambiance has won many culinary awards and critical acclaim, non resident diners are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carrig Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrig Country House & Restaurant Ireland/Caragh Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrig Country House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.