We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, sublime and chilled out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carrig Country House & Restaurant to your Saves list
Carrig Country House & Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Caragh Lake B&B and Inns
Cork Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful, sublime and chilled out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I'm somewhat lazy when it comes to reviews however we have stayed in Carrig House on numerous occasions over the years and we continue to return. If you want a peaceful, relaxed and tranquil setting and if you want a break from the hustle and bustle of life go and stay in Carrig House.

The house and bedrooms are well appointed and of an older world charm, instantly inviting you to relax and take time out.

Read my other reviews I do not suffer high ranking restaurants gladly however I will say with ease that the food in Carrig house is up there with the best and in my opinion possibly the best food I've eaten in Cork or Kerry.

Mary and Frank are the perfect hosts, professional, friendly, knowledgable as are all the staff.

Carrig House is on the Ring of Kerry so if you like beautiful scenery, beaches and walks this is the place to be.

Could I be a little critical? Possibly! But I'm not going to be because we keep going back and always enjoy our time.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or pool but I'm not marking in a terrible click. As of March 13 there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    12
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a beautiful old mansion that has been converted into a hotel. Each room is unique. The staff is terrific! The restaurant is excellent. This is not a place you will stumble into by accident but it is with seeking out for sure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Another few days at our favourite hotel with great friends. This time it was for Niall's birthday and the 4 of us had 4 nights at this wonderful Country House. We've lost count of the number of times we've stayed with Frank & Mary Slattery since our honeymoon in 2000 but this won't be the last. Some reviews criticise the food but we can only speak as we find. We have eaten at multi-Michelin starred restaurants and the food at Carrig is up there with all of them. The lake view rooms are wonderful. We were in Room 10 for the first time and it has the best, unobstructed view across the lake to the mountains. The staff are wonderful and have been there for years (always a good sign of a happy ship.) we find the whole place so restful - out and about in the morning, lunch somewhere and then back to Carrig in the afternoon to read or snooze.....or both. Our friends have been desperate to come with us for years and they immediately fell in love with the place. Carrig House is the best hotel in Kerry. Accept no substitutes.

Room Tip: Room 10 has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Three couples stayed for three nights to celebrate a shared big birthday. Lake view rooms good size and beautifully furnished, view of the lake a delight to welcome the day in all weathers! Arrived in evening to be greeted with a drink and dinner menus. Frank and Mary our hosts were friendly and extremely helpful. Dinners fell a little short of menu promise, problems with seasoning and cooking times. Service pleasant and generally good although a bit slow at breakfast. But why rush? Location by the lakeside is idyllic _ have a stroll by the lake to whet your appetite before breakfast!

Room Tip: Go for the lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recently stayed at Carrig House for two nights and our only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer. On arrival we were welcomed by Siobhan, who went to great lengths to make us feel at home. Our room was beautiful: tastefully decorated, conducive with the character of the house yet modern, practical and comfortable. (Ask for a lakeside room-they are amazing)

The evening menu was extensive and the food was scrumptious accompanied by an extensive wine list. The dining room was spacious and privacy afforded to respective tables. Breakfast too maintained the same exceptionally high standards: varied and delicious. What further enhance the dining experience was that at no stage did we feel under pressure to leave the dining room: but rather we were left to chat until we were ready to depart.

However the pivital aspect of Carrig House has to be the proprietors, Mary and Frank and their staff: they couldn't do enough to make us feel "at home" and frankly, nothing was too much trouble for them to enable our stay. Whilst they were very informative and professional with regard to menus and providing a service, they were so warm and friendly and extremely good craic.

On reflection it would be very difficult to say which was the best part of our stay at Carrig House, but rather everything combined makes for a very enjoyable, relaxing and memorable experience. Thank you so much Mary and Frank-Carrig House is quite unique-and we will certainly be seeing you again

Room Tip: Lakeside room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I wrote and submitted a review of this restaurant yesterday. Where is my acknowledgement/ review? Do you edit reviews? Or is there another reason for not acknowledging or publishing ones review?
Regards,
Gilalin

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just had two nights at Carrig House and loved every minute. We needed a peaceful break and were here for a full blown wonderful Irish wedding locally which could have been exhausting. Staying at Carrig House was our saviour. Frank and Mary and their wonderful staff made our stay as easy and relaxing as it was possible to have been. Thay looked after our complicated travel arrangements, fed us wonderfully sometimes at odd times, and the drinks kept flowing if we felt the need with no bar in site. This is a country house hotel in the best sense of the words. Come here to be quiet and relax . There is a great sense of humour in this house, wonderful views, comfort and care and superb food. We will definitely be back for longer next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Address: Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caragh Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caragh Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrig Country House & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig Country House & Restaurant is a 4 Star Country House Hotel & Restaurant. We are situated on the shores of Caragh Lake, 1 mile off the famous Ring of Kerry route. This Victorian Manor sits on acres of mature gardens and boasts over 978 different species of plants, and has its own private jetty on the lake. The Lakeside Restaurant which is renowned for it's wonderful food and ambiance has won many culinary awards and critical acclaim, non resident diners are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carrig Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrig Country House & Restaurant Ireland/Caragh Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrig Country House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.