We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Dive Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterworld

Waterworld
The Harbour House | The Maharees, Castlegregory, Ireland
353-66-713-9292
Improve this listing
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Adventure
Attraction details
Montreal
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Place to Dive Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

While on our trip to Ireland, my wife and I decided to get a quick dive in just to experience the underwater landscape of this beautiful country. In the end, my wife found it a tad too chilly and I ended up doing the dive myself, along with three Instructor candidates, one divemaster, and one certified instructor. Despite being a divemaster myself, needless to say, I felt pretty safe!

I was able to get clean, dry gear (a rarety in Ireland I heard) from the shop and we all took off in fairly large zodiac to a site known as Inner Reef. I found out afterwards, the conditions weren't great but I still had a blast. Visibility that day was not very good (maybe 15 feet) and you felt the surge from 80 feet down. But there was plenty of unique sealife to see.

I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely return one day for a more extensive diving experience!

Oh, and one thing I didn't notice mentioned on their website, they are one of only a handful of dive shops that are open year-round. Price for a dive with full rental gear included goes for 45 euros.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Diving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thank you to Sandra, Aaron, John and Tim for looking after our children whilst diving. An incredible beautiful place with stunning views. The caring nature of the staff only reinforces what we have read about this dive center. Wonderful people, we will be back. The food in the restaurant was also very good. You want to dive in Ireland I cannot recommend this center highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“waterworld”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

You want to learn how to Dive from top instructors with great experience and even better attitude? Couldn’t say enough about Waterworld. Not the movie. I am talking about the number one dive centre in Ireland.


Professional and Flexible Instructors –check
Easy to use Equipment-check
Something for the kids and other non-divers to do-check
Good Irish banter and Family Ethos-check, in abundance!

Awarded winning Cusine-Check




From studies from all around the world, Ireland has been proven to be one of the best educators in the world. No offence to anyone else, but it even has been said Ireland is the best country to go to for learning English as a first language. And so is true for education in diving. Must be the luck of the Irish (

Well Irish eyes are definitely smiling in Kerry. Waterworld is Ireland’s FIRST National Geographic Dive Centre and from the way they care for people I am not surprised by their care for the environment. Situated in the picturesque village of Castlegregory, at top of the peak of Scraggane Pier Road, This PADI 5 Star Gold Palm Instructor Development Centre operates from Harbour House Leisure Centre, and is home is a family of seasoned professional divers. With their endless knowledge and charming ethos, Waterworld really impressed me with their kind manner and ‘heart’. Their appealing approach to good old fashioned country hospitality puts even the most nervous diver at ease.

The Irish are best known as having the ‘craic’, and this place provides plenty of that. Everyone wants learning to be a bit more fun and less about work, and by this remarkable technique to teaching, you don’t even feel like you are being taught. You are encouraged to move at your own pace and feel completely at ease at all times. There is a wide range of interesting courses offered here and even for non-professional divers who just want to try something new, this place revolutionizes the way to learn by making it fun and motivating at the same time. PADI’s mantra –Diving is Fun- is re-enforced on every lesson.

There are recreational and educational aquatic courses, its not just about diving. You can get certified in National Power-Boating during the day and experienced navigating boats at night with a top class Instructor. You can continue your PADI education all the way up to Instructor or just play around earning your Adventures in Diving.

From my international dive experience, I have never known a better teacher than the Course Director. A lady of class and integrity, she certainly doesn’t have the words ‘I can’t do it’ in her vocabulary. And definitely won’t let you have them in yours after she is through with you! It can be hard to find a happy medium between teacher and friend but this lady manages to flow fluidly between both with ease. By the end of an hour with this fantastic woman, you will feel like you have known each other for years. Superb teacher and amazing friend, I would be proud to have her as my ‘phone a friend’.

The family owners of the centre and B&B are so charismatically good-natured and harmoniously cheerful to everyone you always feel welcome and contented in their presence. Get taught one course by a sister, another by a brother, get your mouth-watering breakfast made by a mother (try the pancakes!!) and get amazing stories and wonderful advice from a father, this family are infectious (. Whether you want to experience some fantastic dives, learn how to drive a boat or just enjoy the beautiful Kerry Countryside, the passionate Waterworld staff are always on hand to guide and encourage you.

Price wise, you won’t have better quality. Coming from Dublin and staying here 10 days was cheaper than doing the course I wanted in Dublin and living at home.

From waking up in the morning to a scrumptious included breakfast to when you lay your head down on your inviting bed, you can’t help but feel relaxed. The Gracious staff are sociable and more than accommodating and the facilities are drenched in Irish tradition that make you feel right at home. When you walk into your brightly decorated room, you automatically smile from the warmth and comfort oozing from the comfortable décor. Even though the sea in Ireland may be sometimes cold, the atmosphere here is always far from it. When you stay here, you feel like family. The warm ambiance reflects the friendly service.

Safety, there is no way this place is beat on Standards. Whether you are looking to enjoy a family holiday, looking for a pit stop on a road trip or want to enjoy some west coast diving, Waterworld can provide it all for you. And more.. With a Gym, Sauna, Swimming Pool, 3 Lounges (including a quiet and tempting reading room and a large upstairs lounge with unbeatable West Coast Ireland views), a bar and a delicious restaurant, Waterworld is more than just a dive centre. Whether you want are a diving fiend or just want to relax in a chilled out quiet atmosphere, Waterworld provides something for everyone. From play areas for the little kiddies to scenic tours for the more mature, this place surely is an oasis with a heart as big as Ireland itself.

PADI is the way the World learns to dive, but that doesn’t mean you have to search the world to learn how to dive.

So bypass the need for lying on the sun lounger in the blazing sun after a dive and keep it local. Check out Waterworld for some amazing diving and even better ‘heart’. From a training point of view, You won’t regret it. Unpretentious, humble, expertly qualified, chill-out dive professionals with an approachable and effortless style. Specialist guidance with world renowned reputations and influential practice, these professonals are on hand to practice in the 3m deep dive pool or in the local bay. Then you can relax in the sauna to smooth those aching muscles.

Diving in Ireland is definitely an experience you will never forget and with Waterworld you’ll be coming back for more. Check out Waterworld.ie for more details.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I am currently in the harbour house / Waterworld b&b, my last day here as I write this review. I must say that I completely disagree with the review saying that the rooms are poor quality. They are very comfortable, twin, en suite rooms. As for not having a tv... So what? I didn't drive to kerry with it's stunning mountain and sea views to watch tv. it's a dive centre and watersport centre. Coming here generally involves a certain amount of getting wet anyway so what does a "rainy day" matter eh? There is a tv room and a screen in the bar anway, both with sky television. I have enjoyed the hospitality of both pat and ronnie while here, some excellent food ( it's worth the trip for the banofi pie alone ). If you are a diver, surfer, swimmer, photographer, hillwalker, cyclist, bird watcher, mountain/rock climber, windsurfer or somebody who generally just wants to relax in a lovely part of ireland then I fully recommend this place.
The brochure states " arrive as a guest, leave as a friend". After this week I completely agree with it. I will be back again in the summer months.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Views pity about the rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Friendly BB people, lovely food, and great views of a stunning part of the world. But for 35 euro each the rooms were very poor. The shower and bathroom is very old and somewhat cracked, the decor is 1990s and no TV for those rainy days. I would rather go up the road to The Shore BB where its around the same price but what a difference in luxury!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterworld also viewed

Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Waterworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterworld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.