We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 'gem' in the Emerald Isle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millstream House

Millstream House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Listowel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millstream House
Save
You added Millstream House to your Saves list
Greenville, Listowel, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Listowel B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real 'gem' in the Emerald Isle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Somebody else has headed their review as “Best B&B in Ireland” and I certainly would not argue with that! The quality of the cuisine is unbelievable – if anyone wants a genuine sample of the best of Irish food, then this is the place to go. The best of fresh, high quality ingredients brought together by a rare cooking talent into even higher quality traditional and new dishes. The only thing that matches the quality of what you can expect to eat is the kindness and helpfulness of the hosts, Nora and Jim Sheahan – nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all, if you are ever thinking about visiting Listowel, then staying at Millstream House will make your visit well worth-while.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

A friend and I completed a charity cycle through Ireland in August 2011 in aid of Enable Irealnd. We would like to thank the Owner,Nora for her kindness and generosity in supporting us and providing us with a complimentary room during our stay in Listowel. Nora's baking skills are extremely good,lovely fresh apple tart and cake upon arrival:-) And the breakfeast was good to! We were provided with a lovely spacious,comfortable room with ensuite! Very clean place. Located inn a very quiet area. You can either relax in the conservatory area or go in and have a great chat with Nora over a cuppa and take a look at her impressive art work! A really lovely woman who provides a great place to stay in Listowel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were looking for a family room and a B&B that would accept young children and we came across Millstream House. Nora and Jim Sheahan, the owners, made us all feel very welcome. We were warmly welcomed into their home with homemade soda bread, homemade apple pie, homemade choux buns and cups of tea and coffee. The room and beds were comfortable and warm. We had a fantastic choice for breakfast and could have easily sat at Nora and Jim's table all day. You will not regret staying at Millstream House - you are made to feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was our 4th year with Nora and Jim in Listowel. The home is beautiful, the Sheahan's are amazing hosts. Best part of the day is coming home in the afternoon for tea and Nora's home baked pies and cakes. Another favorite is getting into the bed at night - Nora heats our beds before bedtime. Travel to Ireland every year, mostly stay in B&B's, and Millstream is the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

stayed one night .was greeted with a cup of tea and apple pie and currant cake by the hosts nora and jim ..felt like i was right at home ..wish i could have stayed longer ..highly recommended for anyone looking for a fab b and b in listowel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Nora and Jim went out of their way to accomodate our every need....we were there for two nights during the Harvest Festival racing events which was very exciting.....we parked our car at their place and they took us everywhere....dropped us off at the races each day....picked us up in town afterwards.....drove us back to town later for dinner and picked us up again at night...wonderful food for breakfast...sinfully delicious snacks of homemade cakes, cookies, sandwiches, bread, jellies, etc....with coffee or tea constantly available at all hours of the day....comfortable, peaceful surroundings less than a mile from town....we'll be going back again next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My wife and I read about The Millstream House in Lonely Planet and decided that it sounded better than another night in a chain hotel. When we arrived we were not disappointed. Nora and Jim Sheahan welcomed us into their home and made us feel very comfortable. After Nora recommended a local pub for dinner she insisted that we not waste our money on dessert as she had tea and home made pastries waiting for us upon our return. After dinner, we enjoyed Nora's delicious dessert as well as an evening of conversation with Nora and Jim. In the morning Nora made us a wonderful breakfast that included her home made jam, marmalade and brown bread. We walked away from her table stuffed with the best breakfast I had eaten in Ireland. You can tell that Nora and Jim take a lot of pride and joy in their B & B and in certainly showed in the hospitality they extended to us. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millstream House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream House

Address: Greenville, Listowel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Listowel
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millstream House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.